the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

0 gauge wire making my truck die


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
whiteram423 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: February 19, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: February 27, 2007 at 11:19 PM / IP Logged  
Im having several problems with the system that i put into my 03 dodge ram quad cab 1500 recently. The first problem is that i have basic knowledge of putting stereos in and how to do it. My grandparents bought me a 5 farad cap,2 audiobahn flame q subs, 2 audiobahn 800x1 mono amps, and a o gauge dual amp wiring kit. (i know i know audiobahn isn't that good but it was free so i'm going to make it work.) I hooked it up like i would any other system. I have a wire from the battery to the cap and then from cap to the distributor block. From there one goes to each amp. the amps and cap and distributor block are within a foot from each other under my front seats. i have a optima red top battery in my truck right now. Here is my problems.
1. The truck idles rough now like it doesnt have power or something. It will die also sometimes because its idle drops so fast. This didnt start happening until i put the system in.
2. The lights on my truck still dim a whole lot when the subs are hitting.
3. Also after i put the system in my remote start on the truck doesnt work anymore it just turns on and then back off. To where it was working fine once the system was in there.
Does anyone think that it is pulling way to much power from the motor or battery because of the 0 gauge wire. or is it because the amps are pulling a lot more watts from the battery. What can i do so that i might be able to fix this problem without having to reconstruct the motor or alternater.
jeffchilcott 
Platinum - Posts: 2,483
Platinum spacespace
Joined: April 11, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: February 27, 2007 at 11:55 PM / IP Logged  
sounds like you have a loose battery terminal, did you ready the big 3 sticky at the top of the fourm and do that as reccomended in your other post?
2009 0-1000 Trunk WR 154.0DB 2009 1001+ Trunk WR
2007 USACI World Champion
2007 World Record
2006 USACI Finals 2nd Place
whiteram423 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: February 19, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 12:06 AM / IP Logged  
I have not tackled the big three yet i'm going to try to do that next week. i'm just worried about it burning up my alternator or something like that. i checked the battery post they are tight as can be. It did the same thing when i had my stock battery in my truck then i put the optima battery in there thinking that it was going to help.
i just want .to truck to run smooth and the lights to not dim. and its not like i have it blasting on high volumes. they are dimming really bad at low volumes also.
ferretvw 
Copper - Posts: 188
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 29, 2005
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 8:29 AM / IP Logged  
First thing I would do is pull the fuse from the amp wire and see if it goes back to normal if not then there is a problem somewhere, is it an aftermarket deck or factory, If factory where did you get the turn on wire?
2008 Scion xB
Pioneer AVIC-D3
RF 3Sixty.2 sound processor
Stock speakers (for now ;))
xtremej 
Gold - Posts: 1,440
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: February 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 11:16 AM / IP Logged  

Sounds install related to me, double check all connections, meter your grounds. running 0 gauge will in no way inhibit vehicle operation unless the install is messed up. It may be worth a few bucks to take it in to a car audio shop and have it checked out.

jonathancullen 
Silver - Posts: 282
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 22, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 7:42 PM / IP Logged  

how many amp alternator do you have? that might possibly be the problem. another question is your stereo turned up alot when you start the vehicle/ when you at idle?

i wish my grandparents would buy me a system lol. they didnt like my old system, made a picture fall of the wall and broke it, didnt even have it turned up that loud but it was in the garage.

two 12" cadence TXW-12S, cadence TXA-3002 amplifier, 1990 toyota celica system 10 speakers
piston_hrc 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Joined: February 26, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 7:51 PM / IP Logged  

Another thing to keep in mind is. If you disconnected the battery during install, that will have reset the idle strategy in the PCM (powertrain control module). Drive the vehicle above 45mph for more than 2 minutes to allow the new strategy to store.  This wouldn't have any affect on your lights dimming (unless the idle is too low?) but correct your dying/idling issues. 

Its also possible on Dodge/Chrysler vehicles for the strategy to reset if the voltage goes below 10.4.

whiteram423 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: February 19, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 9:04 PM / IP Logged  
to answer some of the questions..
1. the headunit is a pioneer flip out avic n1.
2. there is not a installation shop around here that i know of.
3. i rechecked the grounds and everything yesterday and everything was hooked up nice and tight and i didnt see any problems. the grounds are where it is bare metal.
4. my alternator amps are factory i think its around 130 or so. the stereo can be on 1 which is the lowest that it will go and it still dies.
5. i dont know about the strategy and how to reset it but i have drove the truck over 45 for 2 min and it still dies.
piston_hrc 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Joined: February 26, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: February 28, 2007 at 9:57 PM / IP Logged  
Just guessing here but there may be an issue with the remote start? can you bypass the remote start to take get it out of the system for the time being?
whiteram423 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: February 19, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 01, 2007 at 12:23 AM / IP Logged  
ok so i tested a couple of things... i unhooked the system from the battery and now my remote start works. But my truck still is dying when its in park and the lights are dimming when i hit the gas. and nit just seems like its not getting enought power still.so what im going to do is put the the stock battery back in and see because the optima battery is a year old and it came out of my camaro that i had i'm guessing that might be the problem. The truck was not doing this before i put in the system. i do know tho that the remote start would not work when the stock battery was in there. and the lights still dimmmed and the truck died. To be honest i have no clue whats wrong with it. I really could use some help on this one.
Page of 3

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, June 26, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer