the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

short somewhere, 02 honda civic


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 09, 2004
Posted: March 12, 2007 at 7:43 AM / IP Logged  
Hey guys I have a problem with amp and sub setup. I have an 02 Honda Civic, I put two 12's in it they've been in there for a long time probably 4 years or so. Havent had much trouble out of it.  The other day it blew a fuse so I replaced it, it blew. So I started checking stuff made sure none of the wires were touching and all that. Blew another fuse. So yesterday I pulled the power wire completely out of the car, checked it all over for a hole in the covering. Nothing didnt even hardly find a scratch on it. So what else could it be?    If the remote wire shorts out will it cause it to blow fuses?   Also one other thing, I have a small like 1.5 amp micro switch on the remote wire so I can turn my amp on and off. If that switch went bad would it cause it to blow fuses?
Learning the trade one fiberglass creation at a time!
outtaluck72 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 04, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: March 12, 2007 at 8:57 AM / IP Logged  
could be a problem internally with the amp. does the fuse blow instantly when you replace it or does it take a while of playing?
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 09, 2004
Posted: March 12, 2007 at 9:46 AM / IP Logged  
No it blows instantly.   Only reason I didnt think it was the amp was because one of the fuses I put back in there. I heard the amp come on for just a second or two, and then it blew. One of them I watched it blow when I put it in. Another one, Im not sure if it blew when I put it in or when I turned the car on.      Could it be the remote wire? Or that switch i have on it?
Learning the trade one fiberglass creation at a time!
roo-dog 
Copper - Posts: 124
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 12, 2007 at 9:56 AM / IP Logged  
  where is source of power for remote wire (head unit)? unless it ties in to power wire, shouldn't be related.  switch shouldn't have any effect either, it just triggers  a relay inside the amp  (draws very little power to do so).  I would start by testing the impedence of all the speakers connected to the amp using a dmm. this will eliminate the possibility of a bad speaker/wire/loose connection in or to the box. if all that is fine, disconnect power wire from amp and then replace the fuse (i am assuming that you mean you keep blowing the fuse in the power wire, not the amp)  If fuse holds, try another amp- be sure not to short out power wire while disconnected.   sounds like a bad amp. 
(4)g5-1244, (4)gtr12, (2)ppipcx2400, (1)pcx4125, (1)pc4800.2, (3) pair mb quart 6.5"Q, (4)optimas, alumapro (1)5 and(1)15 farad cap, premier deh-p860mp, pioneer xm -dual H.O. alternators
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 09, 2004
Posted: March 12, 2007 at 10:56 AM / IP Logged  
Yeah its the fuse to the power wire. I dont think I have a dmm, dont know what that is. I have a volt meter.   I'll probably just pull the amp and take it somewhere have it tested.  If its not the amp I can go from there.
Learning the trade one fiberglass creation at a time!
roo-dog 
Copper - Posts: 124
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 13, 2007 at 9:08 AM / IP Logged  
  sorry for abbreviations.  dmm= digital multi meter.   if you have a multi meter, it is probably digital (lcd display) or it is analog (bouncing meter display).  either one will work the same, digitals are just easier to read. 
(4)g5-1244, (4)gtr12, (2)ppipcx2400, (1)pcx4125, (1)pc4800.2, (3) pair mb quart 6.5"Q, (4)optimas, alumapro (1)5 and(1)15 farad cap, premier deh-p860mp, pioneer xm -dual H.O. alternators
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: March 13, 2007 at 10:29 AM / IP Logged  
And I can say with 85+% certainty, your amp is pooched. Your mentioning that the fuse blows almost instantly tells me this... If the fuse blows, and there is NO SIGNAL (i.e. the volume is turned all the way down) your amp is fried. It'll need service.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 09, 2004
Posted: March 15, 2007 at 3:52 PM / IP Logged  

Your right bud. Its toast. I took it to best buy yesterday the guy said that it was blowing his speaker setup or w/e they had to test it, didnt look like a good way to test but anyway he said its gone. So I had the four year service plan on it. So they sent it off to get it worked on to see if they can fix it. If not I get a new amp. So either way i'll be back in business eventually said it'll be like three weeks before they can get it back. 

Roo-dog thanks for that yeah i've got a digital, i've got an analog too but dont like it. Love the digital, my grandfather just gave his, that he used to for a/c and refrigeration work. Its UEI, I love that thing.

Thanks for the help guys.

Learning the trade one fiberglass creation at a time!

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer