the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2003 eclipse, 2 alpine amps, 2 subs


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
choier1983 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: March 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 18, 2007 at 2:35 PM / IP Logged  
hi guys !! i am new to this forum and looking for some help to  upgrade my car system ! i have a 2003 mitsubishi eclipse which has a premium infinity sound system !! and i want to add 2 alpine amp and 2 subs (1 for speaker,and another for sub) and keep the head infinty unit (which have 6 cd changer) so i can control all the amp  but  i dont how  to hook up the wires and all the harness needed !!! so give me some advices and tools that i need to get !!! ( please give me  a little bit detail cause i am a liitle bit slow)   thanks for your time guys !!
j_darling2007 
Copper - Posts: 210
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: March 18, 2007 at 2:55 PM / IP Logged  
Well, I am no professional but I think I can help you out. The infinity system is most likely amplified from the factory, meaning the speakers already have an amplifier driving them. You will have to get an amplifier bypass harness from Metra or another brand. Then, you will most likely have to take the new speaker leads from your head-unit and install a line-output converter. It will take the speaker leads and turn them into a RCA output. Then, run the RCA's to the amp and voila, you have a signal to the amplifier. For the subwoofer, just split the rear rca's to the subwoofer amp too.
Also, use a good, high quality Line output converter, or it will add noise to your RCA's.
Jacob
There are 3 kinds of people in the world, those who can count and those who can't
aznboi3644 
Gold - Posts: 2,600
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 01, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 18, 2007 at 3:20 PM / IP Logged  
Why two amps and two subs???
The sound from the sub is all in the BOX BOX BOX!!
In that eclipse it is easy to get loud...one 12 in the right box will beat pretty hard.
Velocity Motors 
Moderator - Posts: 12,487
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Fabrication. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 08, 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posted: March 18, 2007 at 3:51 PM / IP Logged  
Most amplifiers have a high level input built into them already. If the Alpine has such a feature, then just take the output from the Infinity amplifier and wire it into the high level input connector for the Alipne amplifier. As for the speaker's and the Alpine amplifier, what you have to do is find the output for each speaker at the OEM Infinity amp and cut it away from the OEM amp and wire it to the output of the Alpine amp. If the Alpine amp has a passthrough set of RCA's , then you can use this for the sub amp. Use the OEM amp turn on or the switched ignition to turn on the amplifiers.
Jeff
Velocity Custom Home Theater
Mobile Audio/Video Specialist
Morden, Manitoba CANADA
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 01, 2003
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posted: March 18, 2007 at 5:31 PM / IP Logged  

To add what Jeff has mentioned and to take the system to the next level, add something like a Audio Control LC6i or even better is a 6XS. This is a advanced interface adaptor that will bring the system to life. It also affords you the luxury of adding level control to the subs you will be adding.

www.audiocontrol.com

Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
choier1983 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: March 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 18, 2007 at 5:31 PM / IP Logged  
 i am appreciated your advices guys !! i do believe those  will help me to figure out what i should start with !!! specially thanks to Velocity Motorsports !! i definatelly need some more help during doing my upgrading ! thanks aagin !
huy, nguyen
choier1983 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: March 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 22, 2007 at 9:22 AM / IP Logged  
whats up guys !! just a question about capacitor  amp power supply !!! so with an alpine  800w MRP-M850 and  50w *5  MRA - F350 theather amplifier ,what capacitor i should use? 4 farad will be ok ?
***admin edit: duplicate topics merged***
huy, nguyen
ferretvw 
Copper - Posts: 188
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 29, 2005
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: March 22, 2007 at 9:38 AM / IP Logged  

Do a search for capacitors here and you will find that they do not actually do much at all. What you really need to do is upgrade your big three (again just do a search), and possibly upgrade your alternator a little more info about the car and speakers that are being used will help steer you in the right direction and hopefully away from that cap.

--->Richard

2008 Scion xB
Pioneer AVIC-D3
RF 3Sixty.2 sound processor
Stock speakers (for now ;))
choier1983 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: March 17, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 22, 2007 at 9:44 AM / IP Logged  
hey guy !! do i still have to use a fuse holder eventhough i will have  Digital Read-out Distribution Block  for the 2 amplifiers?   and if i want to put another battery into my car! do i have to use a fuse between the connection !! thank for your tiem guys !
huy, nguyen
3rd gen 
Member - Posts: 31
Member spacespace
Joined: December 11, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 22, 2007 at 12:12 PM / IP Logged  
If you are adding a 4 channel to your factory infinity speakers you will most definitely blow them out. The factory infinity system speakers run at 2 ohms and each have a separate channel at the amp.
The amp is located under the front passenger seat. I would recommend replacing the front components and 6x9's (leave the center unplugged) now, since you will have to replace them very soon anyways.
You will need the Metra 70-7003 amp integration harness to use the factory HU with the aftermarket amps.
I too have a third generation Eclipse. If you need any other info about any other part of the car, go over to www.club3g.com! We have a great community that is willing to help with every aspect!
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, October 25, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer