icon

Is Working For Free Ok?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tex12gage 
Copper - Posts: 83
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 08, 2007 at 6:06 AM / IP Logged  

Hey...I've been installing on my own for about 8 years now.  I've been to an audio school, and I'm good with installs and fabrication. 

I already have a good job with great pay, so I'm not interested in that....What I want is more experience.  I get alot of time off with my current job. (i work 12 hour days so I only work 14 days a month, and I get a full week off every 3 weeks).

I have a local shop that does a great job...So my question is:  Would it be appropriate to ask him for some experience.  He wouldn't have to pay me. I'd just like to work for him for better experience,  So I can hopefully Open my own place eventually.

What do ya'll think?...Especially shop owners.

tex
duct tape 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 08, 2007 at 7:14 AM / IP Logged  
  it cant hurt to ask.  the only problem that i can see, would be the insurance risk.  i'm not sure if he could have someone that wasnt technically an employee, working on customer's cars, or be working in a shop with many tools that could potentially harm you if handled wrong.
tex12gage 
Copper - Posts: 83
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 11, 2007 at 9:08 PM / IP Logged  

Yeah I didn't even think about the insurance part of the deal.... Anybody else got any input?

tex
dtpaudio 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Posted: June 13, 2007 at 12:47 PM / IP Logged  
Wow. I had an experience like this about six months ago. I took what was supposed to be a two week apprenticeship leading to a job and wound up getting burnt on the deal. Fourteen hour days for two weeks just to have him try to turn it in to more free labor. I'm not sure how he pulled it off insurance-wise, but it just wasn't a good experience being that low on the totem-pole.
Be loud,be obnoxious,man up, and bounce with a legend.
madfleet 
Member - Posts: 7