the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

will this box be big enough for a 12w7?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
j12v 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 02, 2007
Location: United States
kicker guy 
Copper - Posts: 86
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 4:02 PM / IP Logged  
I have never liked prefab boxes.... your should make one yourself or pay someone to do so
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 4:26 PM / IP Logged  
kicker guy wrote:
I have never liked prefab boxes.... your should make one yourself or pay someone to do so
...and probably not. It's gonna need a bigger box. If not, it will certainly not perform to full advantage in that one, especially if you chose the vented option... (that the box supposedly offers)
"Heavy Duty 5/8 construction"?!?! oh, Puh-LEASE! If their 5/8 is "heavy duty" then what do I build when I never use ANYTHING less than 3/4?
The W7 will rip a 5/8 box APART, with a appropriate amount of power applied. No way... Have someone build your enclosure...
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
j12v 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 02, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 4:38 PM / IP Logged  
Lol, thanks for the replies guys, but as you know the W7 wasnt cheap... Therefor leaving me few options for a box. I may just wait and save a little more cash for a better box, but I honestly dont *need* a custom one.
tubbs04 
Copper - Posts: 212
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 31, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 6:21 PM / IP Logged  
I've put a w7 in a prefab audio enhancer "jug" box and it sounded very nice, but to get everything that sub is capable of I would find someone that has proven knowledge of box building and drop some cash...
...don't crush the weasel...
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 6:26 PM / IP Logged  
Yeah, just build a simple cube sealed box built within 10% of what JL recommends -as in internal volume. 3/4" MDF or better.
2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
j12v 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 02, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 8:58 PM / IP Logged  

I have no box building skills whatsoever. My knowledge is more on car security than audio.

Is there any type of box that I can buy at a shop/store that you guys would recommend?

jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: July 05, 2007 at 10:42 PM / IP Logged  

Something within 10% (internal volume wise) of what JL recommends for the 12W7. 3/4" MDF or better. I wouldn't buy a ported box, as they require precise tuning. Good Luck!

2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
j12v 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 02, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 06, 2007 at 4:28 AM / IP Logged  

I started to think of building my own, and I think Ive got every tool and supplies that I'd need except for what to use to cut out the circle. Ive seen drill attachments to cut out smaller circles like for tweeters, but Ive never seen a big one for subs (If theres even such a thing).

What do you guys suggest on using to cut out the hole? I was thinking about using the wood that came with W7 in the box, and just re-shaping it to fit the box I plan on building. Your thoughts?

j12v 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 02, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: July 06, 2007 at 4:41 AM / IP Logged  
Well I wanted to test out the W7 and I had trouble lining up the sub with the enclosures I had laying around. Are all W7's like that? Or did I get a deformed one? i mean, the sub slides into the box  fine, but when it comes to lining up the screw holes, its not fine... its like the box doesnt have a perfect circle cut. I did test other subs to see if they'd fit, and they fit fine.
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, June 25, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer