the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

finding rca output voltage


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Joined: February 07, 2007
Location: South Carolina, United States
Posted: July 11, 2007 at 3:21 AM / IP Logged  
Is it possible to accurately find out what my RCA's are putting out by probing it with a DMM set to AC Voltage? I was wondering if it would allow for quick amp-gain setting by finding what they put out and then setting the gain on the amp to the corresponding input voltage (ie 8 - .2volts). I know it wouldnt be the correct way, I's just wondering. Also, the 8 - .2volts on the amp gain for each channel or the sum of the 2? Thanks, Javin.
2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
spookiestylez 
Silver - Posts: 531
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: September 23, 2005
Location: Virginia, United States
Posted: July 11, 2007 at 10:05 AM / IP Logged  
probably be a little easier using a analog meter unless you have a newer dmm that has a analog scale at the bottom. Just put you meter on AC voltage and put the positive lead on the center part of the rca cable and the negative on the outside edge. As the music plays you should be able to get a reading of how much voltage your getting to your amp.
rtfm
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,053
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: July 11, 2007 at 11:41 AM / IP Logged  
...and a complete waste of time.
Why are you worried about it? If you follow the MANY guides provided here on the12volt, you'll be able to set your gains without any kind of an issue.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
zhalverson 
Copper - Posts: 180
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 21, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: July 13, 2007 at 1:27 AM / IP Logged  

jmelton86 wrote:
Also, the 8 - .2volts on the amp gain for each channel or the sum of the 2? Thanks, Javin.

Pretty sure it would be each channel for you.  On my zapco 350.2 I can actually switch how it sees the input between stereo, L&R sum, and Right bridged where it takes only the signal from the right and uses it for both channels(each channel has its own circuit).  Like Haemphyst said don't do it that way, that scale on your amp is probably not that accurate anyways.


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, September 25, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer