the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

hooking up 4 ch amp


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
luckydawg003 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 11:07 AM / IP Logged  
Is it better to run the speaker wires directly to each speaker or just run the 4 wires behind the radio and connect them their? Since I will have to run rca's it would probably be easier to just splice them in behind the radio.
dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 03, 2004
Location: California, United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 11:13 AM / IP Logged  
It's up to you, but generally it's much easier going behind the deck. I like to make one taped loom that consists of my RCA's, remote trun on lead, and speaker wire. I start form the amp and go up to the deck. I also run power wire from the amp forward, usually on the opposite side of the car from the RCA's.
proatthagame 
Copper - Posts: 65
Copper spacespace
Joined: April 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 11:21 AM / IP Logged  

luckydawg003 wrote:
Is it better to run the speaker wires directly to each speaker or just run the 4 wires behind the radio and connect them their? Since I will have to run rca's it would probably be easier to just splice them in behind the radio.

It all depends how much work you want to do and if you think the stock wiring is sufficient. I ran new wire because i am running more powerful speakers and I just wanted to upgrade the wiring. It was hard to feed those wires through the molex's though. That is a hard task if you have never done it before.....

Yours Truly
eurobink 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 06, 2007
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 1:27 PM / IP Logged  

we are discussing coaxials not subwoofers... there is absolutely no sound difference you could ever notice from using the factory wiring to running your own.  There just isn't a strong enough demand for current to affect your amp's performance.

If you were running a powerful amp for subs, then you want thick wire...   

proatthagame 
Copper - Posts: 65
Copper spacespace
Joined: April 16, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 2:39 PM / IP Logged  
eurobink wrote:

we are discussing coaxials not subwoofers... there is absolutely no sound difference you could ever notice from using the factory wiring to running your own.  There just isn't a strong enough demand for current to affect your amp's performance.

If you were running a powerful amp for subs, then you want thick wire...   

He was not specific enough on his equipment to make the conclusion that the current demand would or would not affect anything. We dont know what amp he has or what speakers he has. He asked a general question. I gave a general answer.

i disagree with you on the sound difference. You say there would be no difference?? But then you say if you we were talking about subs then we would need a thicker wire because of the demand of the amp. What if he has some high powered mid-bass in the doors? I think in that type of situation it would be best to upgrade the wiring.  But once again, we dont know what he is working with.

Yours Truly
luckydawg003 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 30, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 11:31 PM / IP Logged  
Oops sorry. No I don't need to upgrade the speaker wire. I just have 4 kicker coaxial 6x8's and a 85wattx4ch@4ohms stereo Amp. For my Subwoofer amp I usually use a larger gauge wire to the speakers. I'm not sure exactly its gauge but its bigger than 16 gauge.
eurobink 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 06, 2007
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: September 07, 2007 at 11:41 PM / IP Logged  

i read his question.. he mentioned the option of connecting to the back of the radio.. that can only imply he is connecting to the factory locations,, even with a midbase driver.. how much could he possibly push? 150 watts?

my answer still stands.. and he only confirmed it...

and i didnt say there would be no sound difference, i said there would be no noticeable sound difference.. please read entire comment before responding.. its in the details..

by the way, factory wiring will not be larger than 16 gauge.. and it doesnt matter..

the sub response... well.. generally subs, since they drive low frequencies, require lots of power, and in DC.. thicker wire provides less resistance.. in this application thicker would be better. 

If he was running higher frequencies.. he would want smaller wire, and a fast switching amplifier (high end for best results)to reproduce the high frequencies more accurately.

anything else?


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer