the12volt.com spacer
icon

Power folding mirrors

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
djhemmen 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: August 31, 2016 at 6:55 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote djhemmen
Thanks for the reply davep. Yes, I have confirmed the pink and blue wires are the motor wires and when I apply 12V to one and ground to the other they do close and when I reverse the wires they open. The switch side wires go into a control module and then come out of the module as different colors and go to the switch.
I have never used a 528t before so I have no idea why both engage at the same time. Could it be because I am using the wrong diode? I'll try switching the brown wire to ground as you have suggested and hope that corrects everything.
Again, thanks to everyone for your help. I could never do this on my own!
davep. 
Gold - Posts: 641
Gold spacespace
Posted: August 31, 2016 at 7:20 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote davep.
EDIT: PLEASE NOTE A CORRECTION:
I suggested to temporarily connect the timer brown wires to ground. This is INCORRECT. Connect the timer ORANGE wires to ground. (Switch wires disconnected).
Timer brown to B+
Timer yellow to motor.
djhemmen wrote:
when I apply 12V to one and ground to the other they do close and when I reverse the wires they open.
Ok, cool. You have the motor wires. I was just checking.
The next thing to try is temporarily connect the timer ORANGE wires to ground. (Leave the switch wires disconnect for now).
Separate the timer trigger wires.
Work on getting the timers to operate the mirrors. The cut-loop trigger should open, the other close. Captain Obvious, here.
Get the triggers sorted out. ( I don't think you can use diodes in the trigger inputs, or the trigger won't see the polarity reverse. I could be wrong, but I would try the gtimers without diodes in the triggers).