icon

hmm...What to do?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
troysnx 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2003 at 10:16 AM / IP Logged  

Well as some of you may know I'm slowly, but surely building up my first audio system, in my first car.  I have a Panasonic 903u deck, a pair of 6.5 type r components in the door and kicker 5.25's in the rear shelf.  Now I'm left with building the deep bass.  I had a few thoughts on this but still am unsure what I want/need since I have had no previous experience.

I was thinking about 2 - 8inch subs and a 12, or I was thinking 2 - 12 inch.  I want some balance to my car and I thought maybe the 2 8's could provide some low bass, but the single twelve could hit the very low notes.  Or is it better to go with just 2 12's.  I have a very limited amount of space.

I'm looking for loudness, I do not need GREAT sq but I don't want anything sounding like crap.  What would you suggest?

R.Troy
Maxst 
Silver - Posts: 866
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2003 at 10:19 AM / IP Logged  

How bout two fosgate 10"

http://thezeb.com/caraudio/rockfordfosgatesubs.html#he2

I need quality equipment, feel free to donate.
JamesRH 
Copper - Posts: 102
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2003 at 10:21 AM / IP Logged  
A simple rule of thumb when installing subs...keep them all the same size, as you can actually loose cerain sounds if you have different size subs running, cause an 8 and a 12 create different size waves and at certain frequencys those waves ill match and creat tones that are louder than normal and sometimes cancel eachother out creating low level tones....In general will not sound good.
troysnx 
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2003 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  

Would 10's be big enough to hit the low notes though?  I want speakers that can shake the car when needed, and if 10's can do that then I would defintally look into that.