icon

04 Ford F150, remote starters

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
925slave 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: October 08, 2005 at 1:19 PM / IP Logged  

I am about to my wits end with these vehicles. I have been doing vehicle electronics installs for over 13 years and recently got into remote starters. I have put a few on now and am working with a set of identical Ford F150 trucks that I consider light duty but they have  4 doors and factory keyless entry. I have installed a Crimestopper RS-850 remote starter on both vehicles and the corresponding bypass module sold to me by my distributer. I should be able to make the units work without the bypass as long as the key is in the ignition barrel, so I am told. That did not work so I installed the bypass module and tried it with that connected, still same problem. The problem is this, I push the start button, the truck turns on until the security LED goes out, about 2-3 seconds, then it starts the truck. About 2 seconds after the truck starts and runs the security LED flashes 1 time and at the same time it flashes the truck shuts off. It does this 3 times before the starter resets. I first thought it was faulty equipment but I put the second unit on the other truck and it does the same thing. I am posting here only because of everything I have already tried from the suggestions of the Crimestopper technical joke line and from the tech at the distributer. I have tried Crimestoppers suggestion of leaving the headlights on for 8 minuites to "drain off excess battery voltage" which did not work, the other tech was a little more helpfull. He suggested adding the tach wire, the keysense wire, checking my ground, and not to use scotch locks or t-tap for my connections. I added the tach wire, added the keysense wire, moved my ground to a factory ground and removed my scotch lock connecters and used butt splices to make my ignition harness connections. I even run a dedicated 8 awg wire straight to