the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

viper 5701, 97 corollla


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mystk 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Joined: May 07, 2008
Posted: May 12, 2008 at 5:31 PM / IP Logged  
Hi. I'm a novice at all this stuff, and what I'm trying to do is install the Viper alarm with power locks. I have already bought the alarm online, and I'm planning to get the actuators at a store today.
My question is, do I just buy the actuators, or do I need to get the wiring and a module also? Do I just connect it to the alarm?
Why I'm confused is in this tutorial, it says I need a switch, and the switch connects to the alarm.
http://www.commandocaralarms.com/manuals/power_lock_install.htm
When I called a car store, they said I just need actuators and it connects to the alarm.
Help anyone?
techman93 
Silver - Posts: 591
Silver spacespace
Joined: October 28, 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: May 12, 2008 at 10:22 PM / IP Logged  
You don't need a central door locking kit or module unless you want it to lock and unlock all doors with pushing the lock switch on door or locking or unlocking with the key.
You will need to get two relays and wire them for reversal rest at ground as diagrammed on this site unless your alarm has them built into it like some other Hornet, Viper pieces. Then you just follow manual you received with Viper 5701.
The wire I'm test'n isn't doin' what it's supposed to be doin'... I am so glad I printed that tech sheet, with the wrong info.
Do it right the first time... or I might have to fix it for ya
mystk 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Joined: May 07, 2008
Posted: May 12, 2008 at 10:37 PM / IP Logged  
If I get the module, would I still need to buy the relays? I looked at the manual and the Viper 5701 doesn't have built in relays.
fcss 
Copper - Posts: 92
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 09, 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posted: May 13, 2008 at 1:42 PM / IP Logged  
tehcman93 is right you need 2 relays but  if you dont want to wire up relays for what ever reason, you can get a d.e.i part called a 451m its 2 relays pre wired and it has instructions on how to wire it up for when adding actuators
techman93 
Silver - Posts: 591
Silver spacespace
Joined: October 28, 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: May 13, 2008 at 2:28 PM / IP Logged  
A central door locking kit with all parts will be all you need. The module is what the relays would do. Or buy the part fcss had recommended and just two actuators and wire them according to the directions.
If you still don't understand all of the posts to instruct you how to do it, then you may want to let someone with more experience do it so you don't fudge something up and in the end, still need someone to install and fix what you made go wrong.
The wire I'm test'n isn't doin' what it's supposed to be doin'... I am so glad I printed that tech sheet, with the wrong info.
Do it right the first time... or I might have to fix it for ya
mystk 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Joined: May 07, 2008
Posted: May 13, 2008 at 6:56 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks for all the help guys! I just ordered the central door locking kit yesterday with the alarm.
mystk 
Member - Posts: 11
Member spacespace
Joined: May 07, 2008
Posted: May 16, 2008 at 11:47 PM / IP Logged  
I've been trying to install this actuator on the Corolla for days now. How do you get the actuator wire in there? I am a total beginner, but I've read up on all these tutorials. The cable that I'm suppose to clamp is all the way inside deep in the metal frame. Can anyone help me?
hurleyloser 
Copper - Posts: 157
Copper spacespace
Joined: February 05, 2005
Location: California, United States
Posted: May 17, 2008 at 1:14 AM / IP Logged  
actuators are not recommended for cable lock systems. I would recommend trying to get on a rod at the latch or purchasing the factory actuators.
MECP Master Certified Technician
ASE A6 Certified Technician
snotdobbs 
Copper - Posts: 148
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: May 17, 2008 at 6:37 AM / IP Logged  
http://www.a1electric.com/cablelock.htm    ...this is a pretty good how to on cable lock integration.....hope it helps
snotdobbs 
Copper - Posts: 148
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: May 17, 2008 at 6:37 AM / IP Logged  
sorry i geuss you'll have to cut and paste the link
Page of 3

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 30, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer