Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
krazekilla224 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: June 17, 2009 at 11:57 PM / IP Logged  
tommy... wrote:

krazekilla224 wrote:
I have a 2001 Chevy Malibu V6 3.1L. I am not very good with running everything myself so I have ABC Warehouse do it. They recently replaced the RCA's yet I am still having the problem.
The problem that caused this is they said the ground shield on one of the RCA's went... It blew both of my amps, the outputs on my radio, and one door speaker along with one rear speaker. Ever since then I have had this annoying static/whine.
I didn't even have my radio up that loud when I all of a sudden heard a pop. I lost sound at first. Then I turned my car back off then on and just the interior speakers worked. Then i did it again and just the subs worked. This happened once or twice more then they were toast.

Wow...Was this stuff under warranty or did you have to purchase all new equipment...???

I had to purchase all new stuff. I know the manager at ABC so he hooked me up with all new stuff and gave me the radio for free.
Back to the question at hand. Would running a completely different ground to my radio work?
-Chris-
Steven Kephart 
Platinum - Posts: 1,737
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: June 18, 2009 at 1:11 AM / IP Logged  
It sounds like you still have a problem with equipment. Was it the set of RCA's they replaced that "the ground shield.... went"? If so, it sounds like they may be liable for the damage. Was all the equipment replaced? If they installed it and there is a noise problem, why aren't you having them fix it?
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,667
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: June 18, 2009 at 2:28 AM / IP Logged  
i am an idiot