the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

cap or no cap


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mastermindz 
Copper - Posts: 70
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 17, 2009
Location: California, United States
Posted: July 02, 2010 at 7:22 PM / IP Logged  
After reading a few diff posts on here about charging and battery drainage etc. I wanted to ask, is it worth having a capacitor or not? Currently I have a capacitor on my system, an odessy battery, and big three upgrade, but yet I have dimming lights and Amps in protect mode( I suppose from battery charge drop) so should I keep the cap or sell it and get what? Thanks
Mastermindz
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,609
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 02, 2010 at 7:51 PM / IP Logged  
cap or no cap -- posted image.
mastermindz 
Copper - Posts: 70
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 17, 2009
Location: California, United States
Posted: July 02, 2010 at 7:59 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks I am an idiot, so what else can I do to help system charge?
Mastermindz
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,609
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 02, 2010 at 8:52 PM / IP Logged  
The only thing that CHARGES your system is the alternator.  Extra battteries will only allow you to play your system longer without the motor running.  Upgrade your alternator to the biggest one you can fit or afford.
mastermindz 
Copper - Posts: 70
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 17, 2009
Location: California, United States
Posted: July 02, 2010 at 10:31 PM / IP Logged  
Ok thanks
Mastermindz
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: July 03, 2010 at 12:52 AM / IP Logged  
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: July 04, 2010 at 6:59 AM / IP Logged  
lol my  point exactly. also do the big 3
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
mastermindz 
Copper - Posts: 70
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 17, 2009
Location: California, United States
Posted: July 04, 2010 at 8:01 AM / IP Logged  
I've taken off the cap and I've had the bog three done, and my system sounds louder, but my bass amp still cuts out and I've already benched it at a shop. How should I troubleshoot this issue? Should I get a new amp or have the sub checked out because voltage stays above 12.8 volts and during cut out is around 13.1 volts. How can I check my sub to make sure it is not the problem? I have a 15" kicker L7 4 ohm dvc
Mastermindz
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: July 04, 2010 at 8:41 AM / IP Logged  

mastermindz wrote:
I've taken off the cap and I've had the bog three done, and my system sounds louder, but my bass amp still cuts out and I've already benched it at a shop. How should I troubleshoot this issue? Should I get a new amp or have the sub checked out because voltage stays above 12.8 volts and during cut out is around 13.1 volts. How can I check my sub to make sure it is not the problem? I have a 15" kicker L7 4 ohm dvc

When the amp cuts out is it going into protection?  I suggest minimizing your ground return resistance and making sure your gain is properly set (instructions for both are in the Hot Topics forum.)

Support the12volt.com
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,609
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: July 04, 2010 at 8:55 AM / IP Logged  

Is your amp capable of driving a 2 ohm mono load?

Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer