viper 350 plus, actuators arizona

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
2ndchance 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Posted: December 09, 2010 at 11:44 PM / IP Logged  
I'm looking for an opinion.
I have a 2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited-X 4-door with Automatic Transmission. It doesn't have power locks or power windows. Heck, it doesn't even have cruise control. I thought I could live without these things but quickly found out I was wrong. I need power locks.
So, I'm ordering 4 door lock actuators and instead of just getting a Keyless Entry unit, I figured I might as well get an alarm with Keyless Entry.
I'm a total newbie when it comes to this level of 12v stuff. My experience has been "Red to battery, black to ground, and stick a fuse somewhere on the red wire". Pretty basic wiring.
I spent 2.5 days installing and wiring heated seats for this Jeep and, for me, that was an accomplishment! I loved that feeling and want to continue on by tackling this project.
So, here are my questions:
1. Viper 350 Plus Is it worth the $70 for this entry level alarm with keyless entry? If not, can you suggest one?
2. I'm considering getting these 2-wire actuators off of EBAY. Can you recommend a more reliable actuator?
3. Lastly I'm going to want a proximity sensor since my Jeep is a soft-top. Found this on EBAYas well.
I figure that I would tackle installing the door actuators first, running the wires to location I want to mount my alarm, then tackle the alarm.
Looking forward to seeing your responses.
Also, if any of you guys are in Arizona and can lend a hand, please speak up. I will pay for my education. I have beer and cash!
viper 350 plus, actuators arizona -- posted image.
12v newbie
tommy... 
Gold - Posts: 1,901
Gold spacespace
Posted: December 09, 2010 at 11:50 PM / IP Logged