icon

First Alarm, 97 Honda Civic

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
zerovandez 
Copper - Posts: 115
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 26, 2011 at 8:48 AM / IP Logged  
1997 Honda Civic DX Hatchback. This is my first attempt at an alarm installation. Going to install either the Viper 5901, Clifford 50.7x, or the Python 991. I have a good idea of where and how to run the wires thanks to this website. Just wanted to know a few things before I begin. What is the difference between Ignition 1, Ignition 2, and Accessory in my car? Don't they all do about the same thing when the key is turned? I know I'll have to tap into these wires to get things running so what type of splicers do you guys recommend? Any other pointers? Thanks!
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,783
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: May 26, 2011 at 9:35 AM / IP Logged  

Ignition circuits will stay at +12v during cranking, while Accessory circuits will drop to 0v during cranking.

Do yourself a favor and make this install a true learning opportunity and an install that will work properly for many years.  Buy a soldering iron/gun and use it for all of your connections.   A decent Weller dual range 100/140w gun will cost about $35.  You can do some practice on short pieces of wire from the R/S unit that won't be used for your cars install.  Another item that is necessary for the install and can be used around the house for the rest of your life is a good Digital Multi Meter.

Soldering is fun!
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,527
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 26, 2011 at 9:46 AM / IP Logged