the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2000 audi a4 1.8t quattro rs bypass


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 12, 2011 at 7:52 PM / IP Logged  
I have a 2000 Audi a4 1.8t Quattro. It has a switchblade style key and has HAA on the key. I only have one key for the car. I want to get a remote start system for the car, but don't know if or what bypass I will need. The remote start system I want to get is: Cool Start(TM) 1-Way OEM Add-On Remote Start System Model-RS00G2. The car is manual so I know I will have to do the relay for the clutch to bypass it. So please advise as to what bypass I need again I only have 1 key so any help is appreciated.
bp
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: December 12, 2011 at 8:43 PM / IP Logged  
youre going to need another key.
get a blank and have it programmed by a locksmith.
Ted
2nd Year Tier 1 Medical School
Still installing as a hobby...pays for groceries
Compustar Expert
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 12, 2011 at 9:40 PM / IP Logged  
if I just get a blank key from ebay or something, can I program it myself? Does anyone know the steps how to do that? Also, would it need to be cut too or can I just use a blank uncut key if its programmed? Thanks.
bp
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 12:01 AM / IP Logged  
The dealer does a black valet key for that year.
It's your cheapest option. Not something you can obtain from a locksmith.
Why only one key anyway? A bit silly.
Audi keys are only programmable by the dealers.
You will then need a DEI 556UW and wire it Euro style as owner's manual to the data leads on the ignition switch.
Is this remote start manual transmission compatible?
Is there a dedicated tach wire?
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 11:59 AM / IP Logged  
When I bought the car, there was only 1 key, so I haven't bothered to get another one. Also yes it is manual transmission compatible and there is a tach wire:
Tachometer -- GREEN/ blue -- instrument cluster or ECM on the driver side firewall.
I was doing some research and came across the following, in which I think I may end up doing...
Take the key fob apart, in the long slot there is a glass pill, looks like a long black grain of rice.
That is the computer chip. Remove the chip from the flip and DO NOT BREAK IT $$$. Attach the computer chip under the steering column cover
and as long as it is in range, any key cut to fit the lock will work!
No more activating. You are fooling the system.
Don't damage the glass chip, $$$ and car will not start.
bp
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 1:24 PM / IP Logged  
I meant a dedicated tach wire on the R/S. I'm fully aware of at least three separate places to pick up tach on that vehicle.
In theory that will work in fact don't do it!
We have a dearth of specialised by-passes in Europe and I pull this stunt on Nissans, GM Europe, Ford Europe, Peugeots Toyota etc. You can easily remove the RF chips with no problems.
What you will be doing is disabling the factory immobiliser permanently.
Our alarms here have multiple immobiliser circuits built in, yours don't.
Last but definitely not least try the extraction trick in a VW car and the glass enclosed chip WILL break!
Unlike any other manufacturer it's held in with Superglue which is stronger than the glass enclosed chip.
You are IMO being mean to save $20 probably to have a stuck car, $200 for the key and $150+ for the tow to the dealership. Because they won't program a key for you on site also you will have to buy the whole thing.
Think it through and don't be silly.
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 2:23 PM / IP Logged  
Sorry, I apparently forgot to put in my previous post that yes, the remote start does have a dedicated tach wire also.
So IF I were to take the chip out and either hot glue, put it between 2 pieces of Velcro or somehow fasten the chip on the inside of the column where it would be close enough to still start the car with the key I take it out of, it would work for the remote start, but the factory alarm system would no longer work and the door lock feature from the remote would no longer work as well?
bp
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 2:32 PM / IP Logged  
No just the immobiliser which over here would technically negate your insurance.
You obviously intend to go ahead with this daft and IMO expensive route, I must also point out that I omitted BMW from my previous post the reason is that the BMW EWS system is very much like the VAG system and is a very low powered unit to reduce RF interference with the engine management, audio etc.
This means that even if you remove that chip without breaking it it's unlikely to work!
Ah well buy more shares in Philips NV Holland.
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 2:39 PM / IP Logged  
Well I am not sure if I am going to do it or not, just getting the reasoning not to as well. So what is the immobilizer? What does that do? Is it just pretty much a signal from the ignition to the ecu saying that it is the right key for the car and it allows it to start and stay running? And everything would still work from my remote, such as my door locks, the trunk pop, the factory alarm etc..?
bp
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: December 13, 2011 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged  
You have everything right in your last post.
The car won't start and only an Audi dealer with their labour charges is going to make your car go.
All this for a valet key for $35 and a by-pass for $25.
Page of 4

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, June 25, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer