the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

what sub/amp combo to purchase?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 15, 2012 at 9:46 AM / IP Logged  
DAMN! That is insane! The best place to buy electronics is indeed the internet. It is so much cheaper than any store can offer. Got any pictures of your current setup?
bp
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 15, 2012 at 4:20 PM / IP Logged  
Yep,
Aftermarket headset bellow the factory unit, in front of the gear knob.
Carbon fibered the trims myself. Factory was silver.
what sub/amp combo to purchase? - Page 2 -- posted image.
Subs behind rear seats forward facing.
what sub/amp combo to purchase? - Page 2 -- posted image.
Rear Splits
what sub/amp combo to purchase? - Page 2 -- posted image.
Whats in there
what sub/amp combo to purchase? - Page 2 -- posted image.
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 16, 2012 at 1:49 AM / IP Logged  
Sold my current subs today, So I will be ordering the new gear once I get the money together. CANT WAIT!!!
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 16, 2012 at 8:52 AM / IP Logged  
Looks good. Post pictures of the new stuff when you get it.
bp
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 16, 2012 at 3:53 PM / IP Logged  
Certainly will, Just found out one of my auto electrician friends can source me as much 0Ga wire as I need FREEBIE :-D awesome news. Plus all the 0Ga lugs.
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 17, 2012 at 3:47 AM / IP Logged  
Ordered the Hifonics and the two Alpines from the states, should get to Australia in 2weeks or so.
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 18, 2012 at 3:07 AM / IP Logged  
Checked what my alternator puts out today, apparently it's 130Amps. I want to upgrade my battery to the Optima yellow top but with 1700W RMS and 0Ga wire will the alternator have a heart attack so to speak?? Unfortunately I cannot simply strap any aftermarket alternator onto my car as it is still under manufacturer warranty.
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 18, 2012 at 7:40 AM / IP Logged  
Another couple of questions:
I have 0Ga wire traveling from the battery in the front to the boot, Will this require a 350amp ANL fuse or less?
Is it best to run my 0Ga ground wire to the chassis or back to the battery terminal?
Also can I run the 0Ga power wire from the battery to the capacitor in the boot then from there just go 4Ga to the amplifiers or do I have to stay at 0Ga to cancel out resistance and provide the correct power the mono block?
equilibrium1990 
Copper - Posts: 50
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2012
Location: Australia
Posted: January 18, 2012 at 7:49 AM / IP Logged  
Just read that you should multiply your total RMS wattage by your voltage, so if I have 1500RMS the I require a 150amp ANL fuse. Is this correct.
I thought you where protecting your wire, Not your amps with your forward fuse.
xchrisx 
Copper - Posts: 197
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 19, 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: January 18, 2012 at 2:38 PM / IP Logged  
The amps should have fuses on them, just add up how much the amps fuses are and use an inline fuse that big. Example (2) 30 amp fuses would be 60 amps. Your inline fuse should then be 60 amps. You're exactly right, you need to protect the wire and that is how. Also, you're fine with dropping down to 4ga wire after you run the 0ga to the capacitor provided it is within about 18" of the amps. The best thing is to bolt your ground wire to the chassis of the car. And that isn't true for the fuse to use, so don't follow that.
There is a test to get approximate true wattage which is: although your amp may say 1700 watts, but if it only has (2) 20amp fuses on it that is 40amps total, multiply that by your battery voltage when on, usually 14.4v and you'll get the closest to the true power of the amp which would be 576watts when the car is on and 12v when the car is off so 480watts when the car is off.
bp
Page of 5

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, January 20, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer