fortin evo and remote start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
john07 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: October 02, 2012 at 11:06 PM / IP Logged  

Hello

I am new to installing remote starters. I installed a few alarms and keyless entries back in the 90's. I would like to install a crimestopper RS00-G3(add on module) and Fortin Evo-Can in my 2004 G35. The first problem I have run into is just hooking up the data cable between the Evo and the remote start. The cable has 3 different connections. One end fits the Evo and the other end has 2 connectors on it. The crimestopper has 2 data ports. 1 marked Evo and the other ADS. The 2 connecters will not fit the one marked EVo, but it does fit the ADS port. So should I hook it to the one marked ADS? Do I have to change the settings in the remote start  from the Evo port which is the default and change it to the ADS port? The manual talks nothing about this cable and I do not want to guess at this. This is an add on system that does not have remotes. It uses the factory remotes.  I have programmed the evo and it does nothing except an amber led lights up when I turn the ignition on with the key.

Thanks JohnT

John T
2004 Infiniti G35 Coupe
john07 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 04, 2012 at 12:07 AM / IP Logged  
I have contacted Fortin about the data cable problem and they said to just wire in all the connections and not use the data port. The whole reason I bought the Fortin Evo-Can was because of the data port. I am waiting on an answer from crimestopper and see what they say. If the data cable had the same connector on both ends it would work. This seems like a Fortin cable issue.
John T
2004 Infiniti G35 Coupe
chev104275 
Gold - Posts: 1,427
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 04, 2012 at 4:47 AM / IP Logged