the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

disable door solenoid when alarm is activ


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
guitar_freak 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: June 26, 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 9:38 AM / IP Logged  
Ok so I have shaved doors and a compustar alarm system and I want to wire the solenoids I'm my door so they don't work when the alarm is active. Pretty much I don't want to accidentally press my keys and open the door, or someone to fine the backup button on my car and get into it. I was thinking I could do this using relay as my alarm system gives all kinda of pulses and such when I arm and disarm I'm sure I can fine a neg or pos pluse can someone help me figure this out?
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 10:55 AM / IP Logged  
You need to use a latching relay from your lock pulse to disable the ground wire from the solenoid.
One relay per solenoid.
A regular relay won't work, it will drain your battery.
offroadzj 
Gold - Posts: 2,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: June 03, 2005
Location: New York, United States
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 10:57 AM / IP Logged  
Which Compustar system do you have? Depending on the system, and if you have access to an OP500 programmer, you can use one of the POC outputs set for GWA (ground when armed). Then use that along with a relay to cut power from your door popper kit.
Kenny
Owner / Technician
KKD Garage LLC
Albany, NY 12205
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 11:00 AM / IP Logged  
Which is exactly why I said don't use a regular relay Kenny, it will drain his battery.
offroadzj 
Gold - Posts: 2,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: June 03, 2005
Location: New York, United States
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 11:12 AM / IP Logged  
Valid point. I think I posted at the same time as you because I never even saw your post when I posted mine...lol
Kenny
Owner / Technician
KKD Garage LLC
Albany, NY 12205
guitar_freak 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: June 26, 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 7:13 PM / IP Logged  
By a latching relay do you lean a relay that just sends a 12v pulse? And how would I wire the relay exactly can you find a diagram?
offroadzj 
Gold - Posts: 2,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: June 03, 2005
Location: New York, United States
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 8:34 PM / IP Logged  
No, a latching relay is a relay that will 'lock' in place once it is activated until it is de-activated. Think of it like a toggle switch. It receives one signal that will turn it on and won't turn off until electrically 'told' to shut off.. but won't draw power once latched.
Hopefully that made some sort of sense... lol
Kenny
Owner / Technician
KKD Garage LLC
Albany, NY 12205
guitar_freak 
Member - Posts: 15
Member spacespace
Joined: June 26, 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: February 20, 2013 at 8:48 PM / IP Logged  
Can do you explaine to me how I would wire the pins?
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: February 21, 2013 at 12:36 AM / IP Logged  
No.
Go to Mouser or Farnell USA/Canada sites look up 12VDC latching relays, dual coil SPCO or DPCO download the data file. I'll do a diagram, wait about an hour.
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: February 21, 2013 at 12:41 AM / IP Logged  
First, what's your native language?
Second if you don't have outside push buttons why do you even need this, it's an unnecessary complication.
If they force your doors or break a window your alarm will go off if correctly installed.
Page of 4

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, December 9, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer