the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2001-2003 F-150 Remote Start w/Keyless Pictorial


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,470
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: November 04, 2015 at 7:20 PM / IP Logged  

Are you connected to the Brown (+) Parking Light at the trailer plug?  Is there some strapping on your R/S system to select a positive (+) Parking Light output?

On some Viper systems there is an internal jumper / fuse that selects (+) or (-) Parking Lights.  It usually comes loose during shipment...

Soldering is fun!
rheckbert3 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Joined: November 25, 2013
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: November 04, 2015 at 11:07 PM / IP Logged  
Hmm that's interesting that everything works expect the parking lights. Definitely make sure your connected to the brown parking light wire like Kreg357 said (same connector that you attached the brake shut down wire to the green wire)
Ricky
brainsucker 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 05, 2015
Posted: November 05, 2015 at 8:26 PM / IP Logged  
clifford 5102x no remote start......keep getting error code w/7 flashes...97 Ford f-150....not sure if i am programming the remote as well.......brake light wire is correct....both the green and purple wires are connected to the starter.....is that my mistake?the only manual i have is what ive found on the net....any advice would be appreciated
brainsucker 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 05, 2015
Posted: November 05, 2015 at 11:22 PM / IP Logged  
update to my post........went thru and checked myself....RED / RED / WHITE/ RED / black 12v constant...pink acc...tach at WHITE/ pink at pcm.......looked at the box alarm came in.....sez REFURBISHED in big ass letters...and i think i am locked out of the programming mode........can a shop with a bitwriter program my remotes?......also programmed tach signal.....tried virtual tach......i think the programmer has me locked out because i cant get 2 chirps for option 2 in menu 3..to disable manual trans mode...help me?
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,470
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: November 06, 2015 at 5:21 AM / IP Logged  

A while ago, I heard that refurb units ( never use them myself ) were coming through with the remote and programming locked.  Yes,

someone with a Bitwriter can change those settings and unlock the unit.

Here is how the thick wire ignition harness should look ( using H3 plug on a Viper 5601 )  :

H3/1 PINK (+) IGNITION 1 INPUT/OUTPUT     dk. blue/lt. green (+)  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin I1
H3/2 RED / WHITE (+) FUSED (30A) FLEX RELAY        lt. GREEN/ purple (50A) (+)  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin B4 *
H3/3 ORANGE ACCESSORY OUTPUT           gray / YELLOW  +  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin A4
H3/4 VIOLET (+) STARTER OUTPUT (CAR SIDE) \     RED / lt. blue  +  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin STA
H3/5 GREEN (+) STARTER INPUT (KEY SIDE)      / cut          RED / lt. blue  +  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin STA
H3/6 RED (+) FUSED (30A) IGNITION 1 INPUT           lt. GREEN/ purple (50A) (+)  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin B4  *
H3/7 PINK/WHITE (+) IGNITION 2 / FLEX RELAY OUTPUT   RED / black  +  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin A3  ** set to ACC
H3/8 PINK/BLACK FLEX RELAY INPUT 87A FLEX RELAY    not used
H3/9 RED / BLACK (+) FUSED (30A) ACC/STARTER INPUT   lt. GREEN/ purple (50A) (+)  ignition switch, black 15 pin plug, pin B4  *
H3/10 NC (no connection)

*  Check to see if there are multiple Light GREEN/ Purple wires and/or Yellow wires at the ignition switch connector that test as +12V

constant and split the R/S's load ( 4 red, RED / xx wires ) amongst them.

If the truck has Rear ABS, there will be a Light/Blue Pink wire at the ignition switch plug that should be powered during a remote start

as an Ignition type wire.  Obtain an addition 30/40 Amp SPDT relay w/harness and an in-line fuse holder with 25 Amp fuse. 
Wire as follows :
Relay Pin 86 and 87 to +12V constant through 25 Amp fuse
Relay Pin 85 to Clifford thin PINK (-) 200mA IGNITION 1 OUTPUT ( on Remote Start aux plug ? )
Relay Pin 30 to Light/Blue Pink at ignition switch harness
Relay Pin 87a not used

Soldering is fun!
brainsucker 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 05, 2015
Posted: November 06, 2015 at 1:55 PM / IP Logged  
so i should have the orange wire connected?......i thought this was to drive a relay or other acc......if it isn't connected.can that be what is keeping the r/s from working?.......gonna go try it anyway.....thanx kreg357
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,470
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: November 06, 2015 at 4:46 PM / IP Logged  
Probably won't help.  It should try to remote start without the Accessory wire connected.  Seven flashes is Manual Trans Mode.  You need to switch over to Auto Trans Mode.  Do a search on that as there have been a few posts on the process using remotes.  I have the BitWriter and avoid all of that.  2001-2003 F-150 Remote Start w/Keyless Pictorial - Page 2 -- posted image.
Soldering is fun!
brainsucker 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 05, 2015
Posted: November 07, 2015 at 3:52 AM / IP Logged  
no luck on programming the remotes..........where can i get a bitwriter?.....as a mechanic i am always getting requests for audio installs and mods....i used to install at sound on wheels here in Huntsville AL......and a few other places as well......seems the older i get ....the more tools i need just to make a living......am currently working at home because i lost my D/L and lost my jo as well at a bmw dealer .......all in all..i am a diy that cant afford to pay someone to do what i should be able to do myself..any help or insight i can get is well appreciated.........maybe i can return the favor
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,470
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: November 07, 2015 at 2:43 PM / IP Logged  
What you are looking for is a DEI 998T BitWriter.  You can find them on EBay and some other online sources.  Typical price is under &70.  It's best to get one with the latest ROM version, now at V2.9.  Think mine is at 2.7 but still does everything I need.
Soldering is fun!
brainsucker 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: November 05, 2015
Posted: November 08, 2015 at 12:03 AM / IP Logged  
thanx for your input kreg357............gonna take the truck to a dealer monday..........just a quick?.....i dont have door locks hooked up as of yet........think that would have anything to do with r/s not working?...i used to do installs bout 20+ years ago .......done a few r/s before......4 on my own cars....never installed a refurb tho....do they delete factory programming when repairing and adding new remotes?.seems possible where a diy cant do it without paying a dealer.......kinda sux cause now i look like an idiot in front of my customer.........owell..........thanx
Page of 7

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, September 24, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer