the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

dei 530t problems


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 3:55 PM / IP Logged  
I just installed a DEI 530T in my 72 Chevelle for my 2 rear windows. The problem is the motor runs for about a half second then I can hear the 530T click and shut off with the switches in the high position. This happens in both directions. I have the batter in the trunk and I am running power and ground from the battery. The windows operator in both directions but as mentioned before shut off quickly. I have one of these in my front windows also and my drivers window works great but the pass has issues (suspected ground problem within the motor). I extended the 530T wires by about 2-3 times if the length is the problem I can shorten them but left them this way for routing and dressing.
Did I do something wrong or do I need to do this? http://www.teamclarion.com/sharedwebdbs/ clarionsupport.nsf/732ff3bc1327551388256a4c0078512c/ c2a2f22fc8cc66fe88256f7900781944/$FILE/ 1900%20530T%20Resistor%20Modification.pdf
If I need to do the mod which one should I do the code is OK/12I
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:34 PM / IP Logged  
The first thing is to ensure your windows run smoothly. 530t now has DIP switches so you shouldn't need those mods.
Frankly I wouldn't dare to install this on any car over 10 years old.
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:38 PM / IP Logged  
howie ll wrote:
The first thing is to ensure your windows run smoothly. 530t now has DIP switches so you shouldn't need those mods.
Frankly I wouldn't dare to install this on any car over 10 years old.
That mod if for versions with dip switches. The windows work with the factory wiring I did verify that prior to doing this. I know it's probably not idea but I'd really like to use them. Granted this is for the rear windows and if it doesn't work it doesn't work but I have them tied into my Viper 5902 and would like to have the remote roll up and roll down.
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:40 PM / IP Logged  
Then by all means go ahead. You could also try thicker feed cables (+) and (-) to the unit.
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:45 PM / IP Logged  
howie ll wrote:
Then by all means go ahead. You could also try thicker feed cables (+) and (-) to the unit.
I can try that also I ran 14 currently. I wanted to make sure I exhausted all options before modifying the unit.
Also just to make sure I'm right I tied the ground path inputs to the same ground line as the unit going to the battery since these are only 2 wire motors
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:49 PM / IP Logged  
What do you mean by fround path inputs? Do you mean the switches? If so yes.
BTW ALL window motors locks ard 2 wire by definition as a permanent magnet only has two wires.
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:53 PM / IP Logged  
Violet and Violet/black are the ground path inputs I'm referring to.
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Joined: January 09, 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:55 PM / IP Logged  
Oh yes ground them to the battery NEG (-) side.
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 5:57 PM / IP Logged  
K so it sounds like I have 2 options
1) Shorten the wires going to the motor or increase the gauge (or both)
2) Modify the 530T to remove those resistors.
tegguy 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 21, 2009
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: June 22, 2014 at 6:12 PM / IP Logged  
Howie II thanks as always for helping out
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, November 27, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer