newbie, connector or solder?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nat28 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Posted: July 29, 2014 at 9:28 AM / IP Logged  
Hi All,
Thanks for your anticipated help. I'm new at vehicle wiring and will be installing several switches. Several of the switches I have purchased have tiny posts. I don't think there are female disconnects this small. I believe I will need to solder my leads to the posts. Could you confirm this? I've included several images of a rocker switch with such posts.
Thanks.
newbie, connector or solder? -- posted image. newbie, connector or solder? -- posted image.
auto enhancers 
Copper - Posts: 203
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 29, 2014 at 11:33 AM / IP Logged  
Solder will always give you the best connection
lucasoil4u 
Copper - Posts: 317
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 29, 2014 at 12:05 PM / IP Logged  
Solder then heatshrink.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: July 29, 2014 at 12:24 PM / IP Logged  
... if your soldering is good. Some switches are wrecked by excess heat.
They look like typical spade connectors - 4.8mm or 3.2mm etc.
Spades are normally quite reliable.
If a bad contact eventually occurs, a break & remake should fix it.
Alas as per a recent thread some GURUs like Howard essentially always solder whereas some like me have survived well with wire wrap and even alligator clips (eg - a "temp" connection to my rally car's washer bottle that I (re-)discovered 3 years later upon its retirement).
But maybe the difference is that I am doing for me (and want quick reconfiguration or replacement) whereas Howard and most others here do for other and need to ensure reliability. Plus they can solder, and they get paid for labor to reconfig & resolder.
Since you are "new" and presumably installing for yourself, might I suggest (reliable) crimps or soldered spades...? If reliability or bad (spade) connections proves to be an issue, THEN solder.