icon

Fiberglassing dashes

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Elevatedlow 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2003 at 6:31 PM / IP Logged  
hi, im new to fiberglassing and i want to glass my  dash. it is plastic and is sort of textured. ive sanded all the texture out and think that I am ready to glass. so the next step is to figure out what all im going to need. i bought a fiberglassing kit from Wally-World and dont know if it will work. is the fiberglass going to stick to the plastic? do i apply resin on first and then some matting? what do i do?
kustomcarluvr 
Copper - Posts: 73
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2003 at 7:09 PM / IP Logged  

I would say that if you have sanding marks in the dash, that are relatively deep (something that the fiberglass resin can hold on to) then you should be ok. It is really up to preference, I like to put the mat on where I want it and then brush the resin on. Are you covering any air bags or anything? 

Matt

ezridr 
Copper - Posts: 127
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2003 at 11:29 PM / IP Logged  
What are you trying to accomplish by glassing your dash? Are you just trying to make a mold? Are you wanting the look of "gel coated" painted ? If you are just going for the look it would be much easier work to use a spray on body filler (like Select Products sells) and sand it smooth to paint, rather than glassing and bondo-ing
My mechanic told me, "I couldn't fix your brakes, so I made your horn louder"
Elevatedlow 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: June 24, 2003 at 7:48 PM / IP Logged  
Im trying to get that Gel-Coating look, how effective would the spray-on filler work, would the outcome be just like glassing it?
audiomechanic 
Silver - Posts: 388
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 24, 2003 at 9:49 PM / IP Logged