icon

1998 Toyota Sienna, Crimestopper 2011

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cpgoose 
Gold - Posts: 1,098
Gold spacespace
Posted: September 30, 2003 at 8:21 AM / IP Logged  
haha...thanks for the response...it was really helpful. I've done remote starts before, but I'm not a pro like some people...so I like to research before I start.
Thanks everyone else for all of the help!
Q: What's the best nation in the world?
A: Donation!     Donate to the12volt.com      
youngblood 
Copper - Posts: 77
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 30, 2003 at 10:04 PM / IP Logged  

I think that's how most installers got their start... so I don't discourage what you're doing and commend you for it... and I don't believe I would have done it any different back in my day... ask questions first, dive in, sink or swim.  Pertains to most everything.  Good Luck...

If you don't get the right unlock wires, what you think works during testing eventually "falls asleep" and doesn't respond to the unlock pulses you are giving it.  A quick way to test whether a wire "falls asleep" or not on a Toyota is to (assuming you're in standard Installer position on your knee facing your dash, with the driver door open) lock the door via door lock switch, then press on the door pinswitch to simulate the door closing.  The wire that once unlocked doors may or may not still work.  The right wire does... wrong wire doesn't.  on your Sienna I believe the blue wire falls asleep unless diode isolated with the child safety lock wire.... Easiest solution is one little tappy tap tap on your blue / YELLOW wire sitting riiiiiiiiiight next to the lock (blue/white).  I'm feeling a scoche long winded and somewhat repetetive I'll flame out now

cpgoose 
Gold spacespace
Posted: October 01, 2003 at 7:47 AM / IP Logged  
youngblood wrote: