Car Alarm, any Recommendations?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Sweekster 
Silver - Posts: 481
Silver spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 4:39 PM / IP Logged  
Hi guys,
I'm still new to the "Auto Security" thing. So excuse my ignorance. I'm still looking for a good reliable alarm/security system that would take a thief "too long" to disable if he were to try and steal my van.
I will be installing it myself but I would like some recommendations on some of the brands of alarms that you guys use. I would like something that has all the components like: Passive (Automatic) arm/disarm, door lock/unlock, starter kill, and maybe a window roll up module. I'm also going to be adding power locks (4) to it as well using an after market kit. I see alot of brands like out there like DEI, micro, fusion, Ungo, code alarm, Bull dog, commando, omega, and the list goes on...So I'm a bit confused, Any recommendations and/or suggestions will definitely be appreciated.
Thanks
Duane...
If you think you're confused, imagine how you feel.   Car Alarm, any Recommendations? -- posted image.
Teamrf 
Gold - Posts: 1,031
Gold spacespace
Posted: February 10, 2004 at 10:53 PM / IP Logged  
Well a thief can disable the "best" alarm on the market if installed poorly. And a thief could struggle with the "worst" alarm on the market if installed properly. I've only seen passive locks...I don't know how you could make your alarm unlock your doors automaticly. I'm a big...not make that HUGE fan of DEI. I would perfer to install one of those over any of the other brands listed. I've installed about 4 out of the 8 you've listed, and the ones I've installed were not as easy to program features as the DEI. I'm a proud owner of the Clifford RS3.5.
~The Rookie~
Rookie of the year that is...
Don't let the smoke out of your equiptment..it doesn't go back in.
Sweekster 
Silver spacespace
Posted: February 11, 2004 at 1:31 AM / IP Logged