icon

Installers Best Friend

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
wlg83 
Copper - Posts: 60
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2002 at 1:06 AM / IP Logged  

Ok, my resources are Radio Shack, Sears, Menards and Home Depot. Out of these stores, what brand name, and model number DMM would you reccomend getting, and as inexpensive as possible... not cheap or unreliable. I am just starting out with this businessm and I am a little short. Also, I haven't seen (or looked for) a computer safe test light. Price range?

Thanks guys

markb 
Member - Posts: 43
Member spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2002 at 1:27 PM / IP Logged  

I use an IDEAL Test-Pro 61-360. It's not a very expensive unit, and works great. Big bold display. VERY rugged. It's been seriously abused for three years  and still works perfect. It's got this rubber shell that protects it. I think it may have cost me about 60$ or so. worth every penny. Use it every day. I think Home Depot might carry IDEAL. Not sure.  However, if you live in a city with all those stores, there is probably more than one electrical supply houses. Almost all of these guys carry Klien and IDEAL tools. I'd check in the yellow pages and make some calls.  Tool shopping kicks ass.

-Mark
wlg83 
Copper - Posts: 60
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2002 at 2:47 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks Mark. I went to Auto Zone just a few mins ago for some panel clips and asked. They told me about a local shop that I had totally overlooked, I am probably going to go on wednesday. Sears had a few miltimeters that I looked at, but none of the "airbag-safe" test lights..... thinking further, I doubt I will ever need the feature anyways. Even if I didn't buy any tools, I agree with Mark... tool shopping kicks ass!
DeathsJester12V 
Silver - Posts: 352
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 18, 2002 at 7:11 PM / IP Logged  

hey, wlg83.....