icon

Ground Q/A sticky

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
davidwh2 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: November 24, 2004 at 9:32 AM / IP Logged  
hey i posted this as a ground question, because thats what a couple ppl told me could be wrong, so thats why its in this section. -dwh2-
-dwh2-
thepyrofish 
Member - Posts: 36
Member spacespace
Posted: November 26, 2004 at 2:01 PM / IP Logged  
davidwh2: try checking the speaker wires coming out of the amp, that they aren't touching each other, or grounded out.
Muffinman 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: November 28, 2004 at 12:04 PM / IP Logged  

[QUOTE

BTW, I am an electrician. The ground and negative on a 110~130V house lead to the same place. It is just because of the Electrical Code that these two wires are kept separate until they reach the breaker/fuse box.
[/QUOTE]

I hate to tell you but a house has a nuetral not a Negative wire. the Nuetral is a return path for AC current which carries a low voltage return to the panel. If the circuit is shorted it will carry the full current back to the breaker and tripp it. The ground wire can be on the same nuetral bar but to have a isolated circuit it must be bonded and seperate from the nuetral. The first means of service has to be bonded. The code requires this to keep from burning your house down or killing somone.

bbusbee 
Member - Posts: 39
Member spacespace
Posted: December 03, 2004 at 12:53 PM / IP Logged  

Triple Amp Grounding?

I am about to add a third amp to my system but I can't locate it close to the other two.  Is it alright to ground the amp using 2 to 3 feet of grounding cable so that I can connect it to the same grounding point as the other two amps? 

forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace