icon

Alpine Type R vs Infinity Perfect

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Ravendarat 
Platinum - Posts: 2,806
Platinum spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2004 at 3:37 PM / IP Logged  
Not A lawyer at all, and I will go on record as saying I have nothing but the utmost admiration for the guys and possibly gals who put together the demo cars that we see turned out by Alpine, JL, Rockford, MTX and others. I am a professional installer and appreticate how much time and effort must go into those cars, I also no that I am in no way capable of making 90 percent of those vehicles, simply out of my skill level and I will be the first to admit that. Can I make a sq competitor, sure can, can I make a SPL beast, Absolutly, but can I do any install that I can justifiy charging 150 g's for, no way in hell. And as to the comment about pioneer subs, I have 3 first place trophies for spl and one second for sq all from my vehicle using all pioneer speakers and subs, once again, its all about the install.
double-secret reverse-osmosis speaker-cone-induced high-level interference distortion, Its a killer
boxmaker85 
Silver - Posts: 433
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2004 at 5:39 PM / IP Logged  

Dang way to go Ravendarat.  You're definately ahead of me on the presentation and awards.  I've seen a guy w/ lightning audio win 3rd in a state competition for spl.  It was the install on that.  No way could those subs win by themselves.  But having good equipment never hurt an installer.  I'm still working on my system for personal enjoyment definately no competitions...yet.

Speaking of installs... I might be getting a JLw7 or w6.  If i port it does it make a difference where I put the port/vent?  If the sub fires directily into the cabin (not the trunk) does the port need to go into there also? or can it go into the trunk?

Ravendarat 
Platinum spacespace
Posted: October 25, 2004 at 5:58 PM / IP Logged