the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2ohms Kicker L5 and Kennwood Amp Ported?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
eltaur2000 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 12:42 AM / IP Logged  

I just bought 2 Kickers12" L5's at 2ohms and I have a Kenwood KAC-7202 amp. I'm very new to this stuff are these compaitble? I'm affraid to blow my subs or damage my amp they were both very expensive. I also need to know the difference between ported and sealed? Thank YOU

dwarren 
Platinum - Nominee - Posts: 1,811
Platinum - Nominee spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 1:09 AM / IP Logged  

Are those subs dual voice coil or single? What is the amps power specs?

The most common way to blow speakers is by setting the gain(s) too high which leads to a clipped signal. The other is by exceeding the speakers power handling, usually by a consideral amount.

As far as ported or sealed, you may have luck by doing a search here on the site. Generally the sealed enclosure will give a more "rounded" response, which lends itself to better sound, generally. A ported box will gain you some volume. They tend to be a little more difficult to construct as precision is imortant. I prefer the sound of a sealed enclosure, but you may be after something different with those subs... 

bumpingjeep 
Copper - Posts: 149
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 05, 2005 at 6:41 AM / IP Logged