icon

Dissatisfied with Alpine Amps

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tomfin2000 
Member - Posts: 47
Member spacespace
Posted: December 08, 2005 at 11:29 AM / IP Logged  

However, when it comes to real world experience, I'm still a noob, so maybe it's just me and not the amps.

I started off with a very simple upgrade for my 2004 Honda Civic 4 door sedan by replacing the factory head unit and speakers with an Alpine CDM-9823 and 2 pairs of Infinity Reference 6.5" coaxials.  As someone who had never owned an aftermarket system, I thought it sounded great.  In fact, everyone who rode in the car (casual listeners, not audiophiles), commented as to how crisp and clear the system sounded.

Of course that just made me want more, so I decided to have a 4 channel Alpine MRV-F240 installed.  That's where the trouble began.  Instead of improving the overall sound, it degraded it.  The same people who commented on how crisp and clear the previous system had sounded were equally unimpressed.

That led me to a series of equipment upgrades over the course of the next year that resulted in my current setup:

Eclipse CD 8443 Head Unit (8v preouts), JL Audio CSI-650 components up front (60W RMS), JL Audio CSX-650 coaxials on the rear deck (60W RMS), Alpine Type S 10" sub in a sealed box (300W RMS), and a 5-channel Alpine MRV-450 amp powering it all (4 x 50W RMS, 1 x 200W RMS).

I've done extensive research online.   I've set my gains using a multimeter.  I've set the equalizer using a SPL meter. I've tried time correction, different crossover frequencies, and virtually every other tuning trick I've read about.  Obviously, I've seen significant inprovements in some areas, but overall, I'm still not as happy as I was with my initial entry level setup.

I don't understand how that could be possible, so I must be doing something wrong.