Any tips for speeding up my installs?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tophatjimmy 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Posted: December 21, 2005 at 12:55 AM / IP Logged  
Hey guys, I'm new here.
A little background on me. I've been working as an installer for just over 3 years now, doing RSK and security installs for just over 2. No formal training, mostly OTJ and trial and error.
Anyway, do you guys have any tips to help me speed up my installs? Depending on the make/model of the vehicle, it still takes me 1.5 - 3 hours per job, and the new Chryslers are really kicking my ass...
Most of that time is spent locating/tapping the wires I need to use and figuring out how to get the wires from the brain to where they need to go - neatly.
Is it just a matter of getting familiar with ALL these vehicles, or are there some tricks I don't know about to cruise through these things?
Thanks for any suggestions.
redpeppers 
Silver - Posts: 483
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: December 21, 2005 at 1:16 AM / IP Logged  
i always find all my wires in the car first.....then i do everything on the test bench , that way i know how to tape the wires so that they are running to the right location....this helps alot in speeding up the time.
Where theres is a wire there's a way.
Powermyster 
Silver - Posts: 962
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 21, 2005 at 4:36 AM / IP Logged  
yes find connections then prep harness
Why oh Why didn't i take the blue pill
Darren Power
jaurora 
Silver - Posts: 429
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: December 21, 2005 at 8:32 AM / IP Logged  
Stay away from the T-taps. Soldering takes a bit longer but the outcome is much better. They are making these new vehicles harder to work with. I wish they were all like a 96 accord. 30 minutes.
MECP certified (If it really means anything)
Jeremy
mo12v