the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

reverse polarity with a twist.


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hyperryd 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Joined: November 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 12:56 AM / IP Logged  
The worst part is I know it will be a simple solution.  I just don't know how much hair I will have when it is done.  It's my fault for telling him how nice it would look and work before I had a switch to map out.  I really figured it would have four ground at rest wires similar to a power window switch.
dualsport 
Silver - Posts: 983
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 27, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 12:58 AM / IP Logged  
The air suspension on my 95 Caddy has a switch mounted on the chassis to level it out to the same height independent of load; maybe that'd be something to rig up; no manual control needed, and the switch won't be visible, so you can use all manner of modern switches.
It isn't one of those setups where the car can hop up and down, but just a leveling setup right?
hotwaterwizard 
Silver - Posts: 1,350
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 11, 2003
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:03 AM / IP Logged  
Can you cut the wires?
John DeRosa (Hotwaterwizard)
Stockton California
When in doubt, try it out !
hyperryd 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Joined: November 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:04 AM / IP Logged  
It's not for hopping, but it is for manual height adjustment.  It is completely shaved and I wired up the exaust valves to his remote so that when he parks it he can lay it on the ground.  It is really something to see as it is about 20 feet long and it looks about 40 feet long when it is layed out.  This car is owned by a 40 year old who likes taking it to car shows and cruise nights.
hyperryd 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Joined: November 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:05 AM / IP Logged  
Cut which wires?
hotwaterwizard 
Silver - Posts: 1,350
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 11, 2003
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:06 AM / IP Logged  
On the Switch
John DeRosa (Hotwaterwizard)
Stockton California
When in doubt, try it out !
hyperryd 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Joined: November 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:18 AM / IP Logged  

Here is the breakdown on the switch.  I should have done this earlier.  There is power and ground going in and the one wire per switch coming out, along with two other wires that are a little uniqe as well.  The orange wire is hot when any of the switches are up.  The other wire is for the forward and back positions of the joystick that I am not using.  The Orange wire might be the solution as a signal wire to some relays to isolate the up from the down signal.  I tried that and ended up using the wires strait to the down valves and the up valves through two relays that interupted the up signal to the up valves.  I used the orange wire to activate the relays to let the signal through when one up switch was activated.  But again as soon as one up valve activated both valves ended up activating.  I ended up with independant control of the front and rear down, but either up switch took the whole car up.

hotwaterwizard 
Silver - Posts: 1,350
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 11, 2003
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:24 AM / IP Logged  
reverse polarity with a twist. - Page 3 -- posted image.
John DeRosa (Hotwaterwizard)
Stockton California
When in doubt, try it out !
hotwaterwizard 
Silver - Posts: 1,350
Silver spacespace
Joined: December 11, 2003
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:30 AM / IP Logged  

That is my solution just wire the switch the way you need it to work. All of the wires are used and it functions with no power drain.

Gotta go to bed now.

John DeRosa (Hotwaterwizard)
Stockton California
When in doubt, try it out !
hyperryd 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Joined: November 12, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: March 10, 2007 at 1:31 AM / IP Logged  

We are close.  The big problem is bothe switches have a common power and ground.  This would only give one set of outputs instead of two.

Page of 5

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, August 5, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer