the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2001 frontier remote start


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
sopedish 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Joined: October 04, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 02, 2007 at 5:24 PM / IP Logged  
I've installed a viper 5900 on my Nissan.  Everything works except the remote start.  The engine cranks but does not start.  Shutdown diagnostics reports little or no RPM.  I used the pink/blue wire in the instrument cluster for a TAC wire.  Should I try the Black wire at the ECM and please confirm thats the box on the floor below the radio with the multi-harness plug that bolts in.  Thanks in advance.
peterubers 
Silver - Posts: 706
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: June 02, 2007 at 5:51 PM / IP Logged  

black wire --> THIS WIRE IS ALSO AT THE ECM (Electronic Control Module) LOCATED BELOW THE HEATER BOX TO THE RIGHT OF THE GAS PEDAL. THE TACH WIRE IS IN THE TOP ROW, 3RD PIN LEFT OF CENTER

If that doesn't work out -- use a fuel injector or ignition coil.

The search function is your friend.
sopedish 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Joined: October 04, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 02, 2007 at 6:50 PM / IP Logged  
Is the ECM the one I described in my initial post
peterubers 
Silver - Posts: 706
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: June 02, 2007 at 7:04 PM / IP Logged  
yes, it's inline with the center console.  When looking from the driver's side foot well, look to the right of the gas pedal and up slightly .. you'll see a plastic harness protector with one bolt in the middle that protects all the wire harnesses of the ECM.   The ECM may even be angled downward, from what I remember.
The search function is your friend.
sopedish 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Joined: October 04, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 03, 2007 at 6:36 AM / IP Logged  
The black wire in the ECM didn't work at all wouldn't even learn the tac signal.  I reconnected it to the pink/blue in the instrument cluster and now it will start on the second or third crank.  Any ideas on getting it to start on the first crank?
brhaugen 
Copper - Posts: 275
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 30, 2005
Location: North Dakota, United States
Posted: June 04, 2007 at 7:55 AM / IP Logged  
Give this a try.
BLACK/ red at dist.
on 2.4 it is on the lower left of engine
on the 3.3 it is on top at the front
Source = Scyteck
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: June 04, 2007 at 12:26 PM / IP Logged  

I am going to assume you have both starter wire's connected.

Astrochart has a couple of ideas for tach Pin 3 @ PCM pink/blue for 6 cyl.

lt. blue at the distributor (next to a black)

sopedish 
Member - Posts: 25
Member spacespace
Joined: October 04, 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: June 04, 2007 at 6:06 PM / IP Logged  
 I was wondering about the starter wires as well.  I do have both starter wires installed according to the wiring diagrams from this site.  Do you think I should switch them around?   It's hit or miss if it will start or not in the 3 cranks and never start on the first try when it does.  It's the V6 engine, I'm a newbee kartuneman what's the PCM?
peterubers 
Silver - Posts: 706
Silver spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: June 04, 2007 at 7:47 PM / IP Logged  

how exactly are you wiring the two starter wires?

Your r/s brain module either has a programmable second starter output wire, OR you can relay power from the starter wire (off the viper) to the second starter wire (nissan). 

The search function is your friend.
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: December 14, 2004
Location: Isle Of Man
Posted: June 05, 2007 at 8:54 AM / IP Logged  

Well, it's called many different things. (depending on the manufacturer) BCM body control module. There's also ECM, and PCM. They are mostley all the same darn thing..... It's a computer module. A storage and switching center. An electronic "control" center.

On your truck its in the center UNDER part of the dash.

Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 17, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer