the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

port length and box tuning


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jayjae 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Joined: June 13, 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: June 14, 2007 at 10:03 AM / IP Logged  
i went through the calculations and for the recommended port length in order to reach my desired frequency it gave me a long port like 12 inches. i was wondering if it was at all possible to plit up that length into 2 ports that are 6 inches long and would the box still be tuned to the same frequency.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: June 14, 2007 at 11:06 AM / IP Logged  
No, that is not how ports work.  If the required length is too long to fit into your enclosure you can use bends to get to the required length, or use a smaller port diameter (which introduces other issues.)
Support the12volt.com
jayjae 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Joined: June 13, 2007
Location: Canada
Posted: June 15, 2007 at 7:19 PM / IP Logged  
i want to split it into two ports because it will look better. but i will not do this if it effects the tunes frequency. so if it would effect the tunes frequency let me no please
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: January 24, 2004
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: June 17, 2007 at 8:15 AM / IP Logged  

The opening area of the port is what is important here.  If it's a round port, say 3" diameter, the tuning of the box is a calculation of opening area (diameter) and port length.  If you want to use two ports for aesthetics, and you want both ports to be 3", each one will have to be twice the length of the single 3" port.  You would have to drop the opening area in half on each port if you want the port length to remain at the length in your specs.

Build the box so that it performs well in the worst case scenario and, in return, it will reward you at all times.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, December 5, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer