icon

nondirectional below 80hz?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jmelton86 
Gold - Posts: 1,228
Gold spacespace
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 1:28 AM / IP Logged  

I think it's because of the huge 60Hz cabin gain that's throwing me off. I now have the lpf on the HU set to 80Hz, and also 80Hz on the external MTX x-over, so I think it's knocking the cabin gain down a good bit. I'm going to keep my front components h/p'd at 80Hz and tweak the EQ's to my liking. My system's nothing major.

It has taken me awhile to get it right, but I'm going to skip the idea of getting more subs. You all are right, it's pointless. I'll use the G5 to it's fullest -to 80Hz.

Please bare with me, I'm a -very- novice wannabe audiophile. I appreciate everyones input.

2013 Kia Rio -90a alternator
DDX470HD GTO14001 GTO1014D (x3)
Big3 in 1/0G
1/0G to GTO14001
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 4:43 PM / IP Logged  
Don't use two LP filters at the same or similar setting on the same signal.. Use either the HU or the external Xover but not both.
Support the12volt.com
hemanjoyman 
Copper - Posts: 77
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 05, 2007 at 4:58 PM / IP Logged  
DYohn,
The same applies for HP filters right??? Only use one xover, either the headunit's crossover or the amp's crossover, not both.
DYohn 
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace