amp fuse keeps blowing

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
shezza 
Member - Posts: 42
Member spacespace
Posted: October 21, 2007 at 6:02 AM / IP Logged  
Hey guys,
Newbie here... I was installing a amp and subwoofer today and I bumped into a problem. I wired the amp with 4 Gauge wiring from the battery, with a earth from the body and the remote from the previous remote I had connected for my last amp (which was connected to my rears) to a accessories wire (live). Everytime I connect the final wire, I get some nice fireworks coming from where Im connecting it and then the fuses blow. I put a test light between the earth connection and the earth wire and it stopped the fuse from blowing. So Im pretty lost as to where I go from here. Any ideas? While I got the post up, any opinions on soundstream subwoofers and alpine splits? My bro wants to sell them to me.
Cheers in advance
ice32 
Copper - Posts: 116
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 21, 2007 at 7:21 AM / IP Logged  
so it works properly with the test light between the earth connection and the earth wire? or does it just stop the fuse from blowing?
shezza 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 21, 2007 at 8:30 AM / IP Logged  
Well... it only sort of worked, not fully. Subby didnt work.Anyway, I cleaned up the earth connection and it worked. No sparks... the subby was going, i was smiling and then... nothing :S The fuse at the battery blew and it wasnt a once off as it happened the second time too :SGet past one problem, hit head on with another :(
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 21, 2007 at 10:27 AM / IP Logged