the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

subwoofer/amp distortion? constant bass


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
KrazyLoCo 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 07, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 15, 2007 at 5:38 PM / IP Logged  

Hey All,

I have had my amp/sub installed in my car for about a year now, and recently, the fuse started continuously blowing on the amp's power wire (the in-line amp in the engine compartment). So I change it, and it works for about 2 days or so.

Now, it's gotten worse. Whenever I put the fuse back in and turn the car on, it's either constant bass from the Sub, or just low bass from the sub with no music on. When I change tracks on the head unit, I can hear it through the sub, sounds kinda weird, but true.

Anyone heard of this problem before and how to fix it??

I have:

Changed the fuses

Re-checked all my wiring connections (to battery, to amp, to ground, etc)

I'm out of ideas!

Any help is really appreciated!

Thanks.

sarcomax 
Copper - Posts: 276
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 09, 2005
Location: California, United States
Posted: November 15, 2007 at 5:44 PM / IP Logged  

Pioneer radio?

If not, do you have another amp that you can put in to rule the possibility of yours being bad out?

You can also run some rca's from the back of the deck to the amp and just make sure that one of those connections is not bad.

i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,605
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: November 15, 2007 at 5:45 PM / IP Logged  

Do you have a Pioneer Deck?

jvillefinest 
Copper - Posts: 255
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 29, 2003
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 5:51 AM / IP Logged  
souds like a pioneer deck. had a customer with a N1 that the same thing happend to.
2007 Acura TSX
SQ setup in the works
KrazyLoCo 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 07, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 4:36 PM / IP Logged  

Hey guys,

Yes it is a Pioneer deck! DEH-P2600 to be specific.

Three people asking Pioneer deck makes me think it's a Pioneer deck issue?!

I am not aware of this Pioneer problem, can someone please enlighten me?

Thank you very much!

donpisto 
Member - Posts: 49
Member spacespace
Joined: April 15, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 5:51 PM / IP Logged  

Doesn't necessarily mean its a Pioneer issue. I haven't had experience with the Pioneer decks, but I do recommend checking your amp and what it's maximum impedence is. If it's 2 ohms, and you're running your subs at 1 ohm, well there's your problem.

Also, where are your gains set? Maybe you're turning up your volume too much as well?

KrazyLoCo 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 07, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 6:59 PM / IP Logged  

I mentioned in my original post that I have had the same set up for about a year with no problems, and this started happening. I didn't change anything.

It started just happening with blowing fuses, and then the audio interference began.

ibasspro 
Copper - Posts: 95
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 10, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 7:13 PM / IP Logged  

with the blowing of fuses it makes me beleive it is an amp problem that started it all out.

try this,

unplug the RCA's, & turn the amp on, does it still make noise? if yes, bad amp, if no, take an old set of RCA's & cut about 6 inches off of em, & twist the 2 wires together, & plug it into the amp, & see if it make noise? if yes, amp prob, if no....try a diff set of rca's to the deck.

Pioneer decks do not like the center term. on the rca to touch ground. When this first started, did an rca come out of the amp? lastly swap the deck with a known good one (NOT using the old RCA's)

I have had luck putting in a GLI to bandaid the pioneer rca problem, & seems to work ok.

used to be loud, used to be fast...now I am married LOL
KrazyLoCo 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 07, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 7:23 PM / IP Logged  

The RCAs come out sometimes when the amp moves in my trunk... what could that mean? Could that cause the problem?

I'll definitely check your suggestions tomorrow and post back about that. Thank you.

ibasspro 
Copper - Posts: 95
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 10, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: November 16, 2007 at 7:41 PM / IP Logged  

WAIT. WAWAWHAT WHAT? Amps moves around in your trunk? is the poor thing mounted? yep the outputs on the pioneer are torched.

thank you drive through, next please. LOL

please for the love of your tunes, mount the amp next time.

used to be loud, used to be fast...now I am married LOL
Page of 4

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, January 27, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer