the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

fortin's gm sl2 won't work in trucks


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
NismaX 
Copper - Posts: 104
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 6:09 PM / IP Logged  
If you go on Fortin's site the GM-SL2 has been discontinued. The replacement is the INT-SL. I don't think the module is the programmable type anyway. The version I have is 1.9
The problem was that if you left the door open for a couple of minutes the door locks would cycle once and the module LED would come on. At that point the car wouldn't start. I discovered anytime the LED was on the car wouldn't start. Randomly the car would start but set the factory alarm off. Very unreliable operation. I wanted to just use the DEI 457GW that I have had luck with before but it's gone too.
Good luck!
Jon Mason
Traveling Electronics
dre187 
Copper - Posts: 129
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 24, 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 8:48 PM / IP Logged  
you unfortunately had to send the unit in to be updated. this was available wen the gmsl2 was first out and the problem first arrived. i havnt used it in a while but if you need to use it, call fortin and they should do it for you. As far as the heated seats go, i never got to see them work since i tested the vehicle in a warm shop just after the install. its SUPPOSED to work through data bus, but never got any feedback if it actually did or not. Most newer GM trucks have temperature sensors, the disply for it is usally in the rear-view mirror.
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 10:43 PM / IP Logged  
i dont think the heated seats ever work through data. Usually a pulse or latched signal is used to turn on heated seats. The data modules are nice to have, but the outputs on them are crappy eg Tach. sometimes it dont even work. Run tach straight to engine coil.
saskpuller 
Copper - Posts: 144
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 14, 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: December 03, 2007 at 12:05 PM / IP Logged  
i just checked my stock. They are all Version 1.9. Can anyone tell me if I will have issues with these on chev trucks, trailblazers, yukons tahoes etc. I don't have enuf time to be fixing after the fact.
NismaX 
Copper - Posts: 104
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: December 05, 2007 at 7:27 AM / IP Logged  
Hi
For what I was told all Chevy trucks have issues with this bypass. And by the way it wasn't a bad bypass since I had two and they both did the same thing. The tech told me that they work fine in cars.
Jon
Traveling Electronics
Page of 2

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer