icon

complete novice, alarm/remote start, 88 mr2

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
scoobyblue 
Member - Posts: 21
Member spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2009 at 9:37 AM / IP Logged  
hi there , i am very new to this game so bear with me . i drive a mk1 mr2 supercharger which had a transponder immobilizer on it . i decided to take it out and instal a boomerang alarm/immobiliser/remote starteretc kit . i have only ever done diy domestic wiring and am struggling with auto electrics , i.e. on the alarm wiring diagram it positive output and input , and some for neg input and out put , also when it says 200ma negative output idoes it mean from the car or from the module?on the door lockpower input it saysto use either +12v or ground input , does that mean that on the door lock outputs i use the opposite , i.e +input then -output for the lock/unlock or does it make no difference. i am starting to think i have bitten off more than i can chew . if i could source a video online for the installation of this or a similar system , it would be a great help. normally i would have given up by now but this is intriguing me and the stubborn side of me has kicked in and is telling me not to give up.any help or pointers would be gratefully received bearing in mind not to blind me with too much science!
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2009 at 12:36 PM / IP Logged  
Your locks are low current neg which means you need to supply neg to lock and unlock the vehicle, also on a cold morning if you have to pump the accelerator before she catches, don't bother also the brand you're fitting, throw it away, last but not least considering it's a very easy car but with lots of work should you be doing this?
scoobyblue 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 12, 2009 at 12:43 PM / IP Logged  
i have no choice but to do this myself , i havent worked since june so cant afford a professional installation
icearrow6 
Copper - Posts: 497