icon

complete novice, alarm/remote start, 88 mr2

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 5:39 AM / IP Logged  
Just out of interest a Mk1 MR2 with a transponder immobiliser? Don't think so unless it was after market in which case it can be easily discarded for the purpose of this exercise. I did an alarm + R/s on a 95 Mk2 last week which didn't have one.
Basic requirements:
DMM a cheap one but adequate is about £30 ($45) from Maplin.
Drill/Screwdriver with 3mm and 7 or 8mm bits (a stepped cone cut 3-14mm is better but they start at about £14 = $21 here). + Phillips no.2 bit.
Assorted cable for pin switches.
Good quality insulated tape, 2 reels. I use Scotch 33+ but that's £3/$5 per reel here.
Solder 60/40 flux cored leaded works better.
Soldering iron, I use Weller gun and pyropens but these are for pro use, buy a cheap butane pen type at Halfords or Maplin.
8 and 10mm spanners.
Door or trim popper basic about £25 /$38 from Snap-On.
Various ring and receptacle terminals insulated crimp type, again Maplin or Halfords.
At least 3 x1N4004 diodes, Maplins.
3 pin switches for rear trunk (boot), engine bay and bonnet (hood) lids.
That's your bare minimum. For our friends across the pond (not Powermyster, that's just a small and very windy pond!) Halfords is a cross between a cycle store, motoring accessories and auto parts and a Sears and thinks it can do installs as well.Maplin is a UK version of Radio Shack that's far cheaper for parts and the staff are more efficient.
Stanley Knife
Crimping tool you can spend up to £200 ($300) but a reasonable price for constant use is about £54 for a ratchet type.
scoobyblue 
Member - Posts: 21
Member spacespace
Posted: December 13, 2009 at 5:46 AM / IP Logged  

howie ll wrote: