icon

timed 12v relay for power folding steps

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lvintegra 
Member - Posts: 35
Member spacespace
Posted: December 03, 2012 at 6:01 PM / IP Logged  

So I want to start with I have little to no experience with relays and making them work for the functions I need them to do oustide just replacing / installing them after somebody else already did all the programming work. I am looking to do a retro fit on some power running boards on my Escalade that did not come with them from the factory. Because mine did not come with them from the factory I have to figure out how to control them myself, rather than the on board computer. One good thing is I know the color wiring diagram for the motors and it's function, as well as the door open / close trigger wires inside the factory harness. So here is my issue, I need to find a relay that can perform the following function:

Must have constant 12V power; once the door open trigger sends the signal to the relay I need the relay to allow 12v power to flow to the motor extension wire for 3 seconds and then stop. *the motors don't have stops therefore if a constant power was applied the motor would continually run even though the step would be fully deployed and eventually burn up*. Inversely, once the door close trigger sends the signal to the relay I need the relay to allow 12v power to flow to the motor retraction wire for 3 seconds and the stop. I have also been advised I should "diode" the relays so the 12v constant doesn't send feedback through the "door open / close trigger wires", not sure what this means exactly.

I put together the following diagram sketch of how I think it could possibly work

[IMG]https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v359/baggedLVintegra/RetrofitPowerRunningBoardSchematic.png[/IMG]