the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

fortin's gm sl2 won't work in trucks


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
NismaX 
Copper - Posts: 104
Copper spacespace
Joined: October 15, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 11:55 AM / IP Logged  
I got this from Fortin themselves. I had some issues with this module that I'd like to pass on. They say it won't work and has been discontinued use the GM-SL (if you can find one) or a INT-SL which is new. This is just fantastic news to come upon when your customer wonders why you are having problems with an install that should be pretty text book by now. By the way the install was in an '04 Suburban.
Jon
Traveling Electronics
johnmax 
Copper - Posts: 131
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 15, 2003
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 11:56 AM / IP Logged  
Done tons of those in full size trucks. Once they figured out the battery draw issue, no further problems. Must have a couple hundred out there. They worked on all those.
tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged  
most problems with the Fortin units were the battery issue as johnmax mentioned. Mostly on hondas when not enough power was avail for car to start, the ECU reset a few times and it wouldnt allow car to start. But after the latest firmware, all should be fixed. Im sure the GM sl2 should work. Maybe it jsut needs the newest firmware. Download the new one if u got the flash link updater.
saskpuller 
Copper - Posts: 144
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 14, 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 5:00 PM / IP Logged  

Do you have any versions or serial numbers that these are causing problems on? I just got in 25 of these for the GM trucks and had planned on using them next week. Are these updateable? Might need to rethink this.

tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 5:43 PM / IP Logged  
they are updatable if u haev the flash link connecter, as far as version, check on Fortin website. www.ifar.ca
todds440 
Member - Posts: 48
Member spacespace
Joined: December 29, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 5:50 PM / IP Logged  
   Just curious, what type of problem were you having?  Passlock starting problems, doorlock problems, etc.? 
dre187 
Copper - Posts: 129
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 24, 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 8:58 PM / IP Logged  
Usually it was battery brain problems with the GMSL2. The BCM of the vehicle would "go to sleep" after the car has been shut off and had no actions for a certain lengh of time (i don't remember how long). This reduces the current draw on the battery.  basically the GMSL2 wouldn't let the bcm go to sleep and would drain the battery. it was very intermittant too, really irritating until they figured the problem.  there is upgradeable firware now anyways so its no big deal anymore.
saskpuller 
Copper - Posts: 144
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 14, 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 11:51 PM / IP Logged  

So the newest upgrade fixes the problem. That would be cool. Don't need anymore problems this week.

can anyone tell me if these will turn on the heated seats and mirrors on chevy trucks? The manual says so but I was looking for actual user confirmation. And if so, how does the bypass know what the engine temp is? Is that a data thing?

saskpuller 
Copper - Posts: 144
Copper spacespace
Joined: November 14, 2006
Location: Canada
Posted: November 29, 2007 at 11:59 PM / IP Logged  

Just went to www.ifar.ca .

I can't seem to see where the gm-sl2 is an upgradeable unit. I see that the can-sl2 is but that is it. Someone please enlighten me on this. I'm thinking I'll call fortin on Friday to make sure. Does anyone have a name in tech support that mentioned this whole subject.

tedmond 
Gold - Posts: 4,610
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 06, 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posted: November 30, 2007 at 2:14 PM / IP Logged  
check this out bro. http://bypasskits.fortinautoradio.com/en/products/kits_coming_soon/gm-sl2/
from what i see the latest firmware i see is Version 1.8
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer