the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2007 nissan altima remote start


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hurban30 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Joined: March 20, 2008
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 20, 2008 at 7:55 AM / IP Logged  

I installed the XK-07 unit and my altima starts up fine but i am running into a problem when I attempt to switch over to the ignition. Basically I have to hit the brake and turn off the remote starter and then restart the vehicle with the push button. I know the instructions specifically say you must hit the push button twice before pressing the brake but my ignition does not turn on. I contacted bypasskits and they basically told me the having to turn the car off and back on is a security feature and the instructions arent accurate. Has anyone installed the XK-07 and actually been able to remote start the car and then just hit the push button twice and then when you hit the brake the vehicle stays on?

advanced 
Copper - Posts: 207
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2003
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: March 21, 2008 at 8:49 PM / IP Logged  
Yes, as my post states, I recently installed an XK-07 in a 2007 Nissan Altima & it works just like the directions say it should. You remote start the car, then get in & hit the botton twice until the ignition sais "On". Then step on the brake & the car should stay running. Check all your wiring carefully. I can't imagine what's wrong. I can't believe they told you that @ Bypasskit Tech support. Let us know what you find.
Good Enough Isn't!
hurban30 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Joined: March 20, 2008
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 23, 2008 at 12:17 PM / IP Logged  
I checked my wiring 3 times and actually took out all the wires and started from scratch and I am still having the same issue. The company I bought the XK-07 swapped the unit out for me also to eliminate that as the issue. I am at a complete loss. My unit has the most recent firmware in it I believe the version 3. Which firmware was on the unit for the install you did?
Chris Luongo 
Platinum - Posts: 3,746
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 21, 2002
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: March 23, 2008 at 6:22 PM / IP Logged  
Hey guys, I'm a little late to this post. My co-workers and I have been doing these cars for a while now, in various ways. We've done Altimas, G35s, G37s, and three 2009 Muranos.
Each vehicle has different component locations, and different wire colors, but they're all about the same.
There are four ways (that I know of) to do these cars.
1. XK07: Doesn't work correctly.
hurban30, sorry to hear you got stuck. The newest firmware is 3.01, and has the same flaw. The only current solution is to switch to another module.
Link: http://www.audiogroupforum.com/csforum/showthread.php?t=67092
2. Fortin CAN-SL-2 (www.ifar.ca) (The older version is the CAN-SL-2i):
The Fortin piece is now very reliable, with the exception that their tach output doesn't work.
Well, actually, it works once or twice just to fool you, so you can have the customer come back a day or two later with the starter grinding.
When we first started buying the CAN-SL-2i, about two of every three pieces were defective right out of the bag. We were taking three units along for every job! But they got that under control pretty quickly.
3. ADS (www.idatalink.ca) DLSL CA or DLSL CA2:
By far the most installer-friendly and customer-friendly, and also they have the best install manual. Their unit even automates the pushbutton takeover.
However, many of us are having problems on cars with these modules. It hasn't been resolved yet. We don't know if it's the module, or the installation, or the car.
Link: http://www.12voltdata.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=149&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&sid=9d47c50381c011eb66e93b0937b30c97
As you can see from the above link, ADS' tech support is very attentive and responsive. Once this issue is worked out, I'll be able to say that their module is the best.
4. Install using no module at all.
You could either buy a 3-volt power supply, or solder wires onto the battery from the remote. Configure a relay so that the remote only gets power when the remote starter is on.
Use the remote starter to power up the car's brake wire, then pulse the pushbutton wire on the dash, and the car will start up just fine.
But, there are downsides. The car could be stolen while running under remote start (maybe you could configure a relay to disable the shifter).
Probably the biggest downside is that a spare Intelligent Key, plus the dealership labor to program it, cost more money than any of the above modules.
Chris Luongo 
Platinum - Posts: 3,746
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 21, 2002
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: March 23, 2008 at 6:29 PM / IP Logged  
Oh, one more thing, about the air conditioner on Altimas.
It doesn't matter which module you use, but look at Trilogix' install manual. There is one more accessory wire they want you to power up, in the underhood fuse box. I think it's yellow/red.
This is the wire that turns on the air conditioning compressor.
Fortin and ADS don't include this wire in their install manuals, and they don't think it's a good idea to hook it up. I agree.
Anyway:
--If you don't hook the wire up, the remote starter is only useful for wintertime. The AC compress won't run with remote start.
--If you do hook it up, you'll have AC, and the car will cool down.
However, this means the compressor will also run when it's below freezing and it shouldn't.
It'll run even after the car has had a minor accident and the condenser punctured.
It'll run even when the car's eventually all old and beat up, and all the refrigerant has leaked out.
In the last two situations, the compressor would most likely fail, sieze, and maybe throw the belt.
If it were my personal car, I'd probably hook it up, but on a toggle switch, and only leave it on in the summertime.
dtk1 
Copper - Posts: 179
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 21, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 23, 2008 at 8:19 PM / IP Logged  
thnx for the info Chris Luongo your the man. i am about to do an 07 altima any tips or tricks you can give me ?
hurban30 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Joined: March 20, 2008
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 24, 2008 at 5:49 AM / IP Logged  
I appreciate the info and I wish I knew all of this ahead of time and that they didnt write instructions that didnt apply. I am still confused however how advanced managed to get this to work correctly. Did the earlier firmwares not have this issue?
Chris Luongo 
Platinum - Posts: 3,746
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 21, 2002
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: March 24, 2008 at 8:14 AM / IP Logged  
dtk1, thanks.
I don't have too many tips, other than to say that it's helpful to read all three manufacturers' installation manuals, regardless of which module you'll be using.
For example, you could use the idatalink method of connecting parking lights, but use the Fortin module if you want.
If you read all three manuals carefully, you should get some ideas of how you want to do it.
hurban30,
No, the XK07 has always done that on pushbutton Nissans, since day one. Infiniti M, G, Altima....they all do that.
Just like my post I lined to on the other forum says.......at first their tech support denied that it was happening, and then when I called back, they admitted to it, but didn't have any solution to get around it.
DEI (Directed Electronics) has bought out Trilogix. On DEI's (password protected) forum, another installer ran into the same problem. There was a Trilogix employee on the forum too.
On March 12, I provided a link and brought this problem to his attention. So far, he has not responded.
If you're looking for an immediate solution, swap out your XK07 for a CAN-SL-2. If you can find an old-stock CAN-SL-2i, that works fine as well.
As long as you mounted your bypass module separately from your remote starter, it should just be a matter of cutting out the XK07, and splicing in the wires for the new module.
They have different connectors and wire colors, but otherwise, they install in the same manner.
dtk1 
Copper - Posts: 179
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 21, 2007
Location: United States
Posted: March 24, 2008 at 9:15 AM / IP Logged  
thank you so much Chris Luongo am going to use an an xk07 but am gona attach the hood pin to door trigers to avoid the costumer from making any mistakes of shifting the car and causing an TPM light on the dash
advanced 
Copper - Posts: 207
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 13, 2003
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: March 31, 2008 at 7:26 PM / IP Logged  

Sorry, I was away on vacation last week & couldn't respond to the post.I used an XK07 with version 3.01 firmware. Maybe I got lucky. The unit works fine so far.Chris Lungo really knows his stuff & I trust his opinions. So I would take his advice.

And I strongly agree with Chris that it's helpful to read all three manufacturers' installation manuals, regardless of which module you'll be using. I made some small changes to XK07 instructions, such as where to tap into parking lights. You want to become as familiar as possible with the car. And always test wires & always use common sense.

Good Enough Isn't!
Page of 4

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, August 14, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer